A Perfect Match CCD 4357 2
  • CAT # CCD-4357-25

    1. Trust In Me 3:50
    2. I'll Take Romance 2:38
    3. Body And Soul 4:44
    4. The Best Thing For You 3:32
    5. I Remember Clifford 4:53
    6. On The Sunny Side Of The Street 3:12
    7. Lullaby Of Birdland 3:53
    8. The Second Time Around 2:59
    9. Falling In Love With Love 4:27
    10. That's For Me 3:50
    11. I Won't Dance 5:26
    12. Some Other Time 2:23
    13. The Touch Of Your Lips 3:32
    14. The Things We Did Last Summer 3:06

In pairing together George Shearing and Ernestine Anderson, the planning and success of the venture were foreordained, since both have long been mutual admirers.

"I've always loved George's work," said Ernestine. "In fact, many years ago, George came to Seattle for a concert and I did a spot with him. [In 1987], as you know, we were together at the Fujitsu-Concord Festival in Japan."

During one of Ernestine's appearances in New York, when George came to catch her show, he expressed the desire to make an album with her. "I was ecstatic," she recalled, "and the recording went very smoothly. We decided to concentrate on standard tunes, mostly things I've known and liked for a long time."

The sense of unity denoted by the title of this set was in one sense logical, in another improbable. Here are two artists with disparate backgrounds, a singer from Houston and a pianist from London, both major recording name since the 1950s, in their first full-fledged collaboration.

Find out more about George Shearing & Ernestine Anderson