A Week At The Blue Note

Chick Corea And Origin

A Week At The Blue Note
  • CAT # SCD6-9020-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Say It Again (Part 1) 1:32
    2. Say It Again (Part 2)
    3. Double Image 15:51
    4. Bewitched 9:55
    5. Bird Feathers 13:44
    6. Say It Again 1:29
    7. Say It Again (Part 2)
    8. Tempus Fugit 17:11
    DISC TWO  
    1. Hand Me Down 13:22
    2. Soul Mates 9:11
    3. Matrix 19:11
    4. It Could Happen To You 15:26
    5. Dreamless 13:35
    1. Bewitched 10:21
    2. Bird Feathers 14:45
    3. Say It Again (Part 1)
    4. Say It Again (Part 2)
    5. Tempus Fugit 16:58
    6. Hand Me Down 14:51
    7. Molecules 12:36
    1. Sifu 15:09
    2. Matrix 22:34
    3. Say It Again (Part 1) 1:31
    4. Say It Again (Part 2) 1:14
    5. Double Image 19:00
    1. Blue Monk 12:05
    2. Sifu 11:02
    3. Molecules 12:09
    4. Straight No Chaser 13:59
    5. Say It Again (Part 1) 1:36
    6. Say It Again (Part 2) 1:05
    7. Four 19:49
    DISC SIX  
    1. Bewitched 11:53
    2. Hand Me Down 14:04
    3. Four In One 14:37
    4. Matrix 13:04
    5. Double Image 18:07

Capturing the beginnings of Chick Corea & Origin's evolution, A Week At The Blue Note is a special 6-disc collection presenting six sets of the band's music recorded over three nights, live at the Blue Note. This boxed-set treats listeners to intimate, unedited performances of Chick's brand new band in the first week of developing their music. "Originally I thought that I might only use the recordings contained on this six-disc set for promotional purposes (like a demo) and record the group in a studio setting later. But it turns out, after we played and recorded, I fell in love with the live feel of what we had on tape. This is how the band really sounds in performance - the intimacies along with a few of the technical problems of playing a small dry-sounding club with a stage that's not quite large enough for the six musicians. All the realness of a live performance... Making a live recording without sound separators, monitors or headphones allows the musicians to play together and listen to one another

Find out more about Chick Corea And Origin


For the past half-century, on a jazz landscape that has seen its share of twists and turns, Chick Corea has always kept the faith - not just for… More


Chick Corea presents a collection showcasing some of the solo works by the immensely talented musicians that comprise his acclaimed ensemble… More
Chick Corea & Origin’s simply titled this release Change, exemplifies a super-band’s continual exploration of its identity within… More
Captured in live performance at The Blue Note, Chick Core presents Origin, the premier recording by the legendary pianist/composer with… More