Afro Blue

McCoy Tyner

Afro Blue
  • Release Date: 13 Nov 2007
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83682-25

    1. Afro Blue 12:23
    2. If I Should Lose You 6:25
    3. You Taught My Heart To Sing 5:39
    4. If I Were a Bell 7:50
    5. Summertime 4:50
    6. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes 4:52
    7. Blue Bossa 6:51
    8. Carriba 5:40

Telarc releases McCoy Tyner's finest moments from five stellar recordings.

“A lot of musicians made so many sacrifices just so I could do what I am doing today. It is like being handed a gift. I have tried to be the best I can. I have never rested on my laurels. I just feel fortunate that I am able to do what I am doing.”
— McCoy Tyner

McCoy Tyner, one of the most innovative and influential jazz piano players of the last four decades, has been a recurring luminary on the Telarc roster since the release of McCoy Tyner and the Latin Jazz All-Stars in 1999. Since that initial Telarc offering, he has recorded four additional sets on the prestigious label: McCoy Tyner with Stanley Clarke and Al Foster, released in 2000, Jazz Roots, released in 2000, Land of Giants, released in 2003 and Illuminations, released in 2004.

Afro Blue is a cross section of Tyner’s greatness captured in eight tracks culled from his Telarc catalog.

Listen to the genius of Afro Blue and hear what makes McCoy Tyner one of the greatest jazz pianists of his generation – and one of the finest artists Telarc has ever recorded.

Find out more about McCoy Tyner


Orrin’s commentary (from his new liner notes): “Although I had been very much impressed by his work with [John Coltrane], listening to… More
Remastered in 24-bit from the original master tapes. Part of our Keepnews Collection, which spotlights classic albums originally produced by the… More
Years before rock guitarists began playing what came to be called “power chords,” a young McCoy Tyner was providing them pianistically… More
McCoy Tyner gave an electrifying concert at the 1978 Live Under the Sky Festival in Tokyo. These recordings, from the same occasion that produced… More
2005 Grammy Award Winner for Best Jazz Instrumental Album, Individual or Group McCoy Tyner, one of the most revered jazz pianists of the past… More
Rhythmically complex and harmonically adventurous, McCoy Tyner's Land of Giants reflects the élan of four master musicians relentlessly… More
McCoy Tyner's adventurous solo tribute to great jazz pianists of the last century. More
with Ron Carter, Tony Williams Recorded at Denen Coliseum, Tokyo, Japan, July 28, 1978. (previously unreleased). More
A sophisticated and much anticipated Latin release from one of modern jazz's most respected and imitated pianists. More
At the time of these live performances (1974), when much of the jazz keyboard world had plugged in, at least part-time, McCoy Tyner's piano… More
This was Tyner's second Milestone album following the 1972 Sahara (which was a recording by his working quartet) and preceding many… More
with Azar Lawrence, Joony Booth, Alphonse Mouzon Recorded July 7, 1973. More