John Fahey

  • CAT # TAKCD-8903-25

    1. Jesus Is A Dying Bedmaker 3:23
    2. Amazing Grace 2:18
    3. Song #3 1:48
    4. Special Rider Blues 3:03
    5. Dvorak 3:42
    6. Jesus Is A Dying Bedmaker 3:23
    7. Finale 3:10
    8. America 7:40
    9. Dalhart, Texas, 1967 10:56
    10. Knoxville Blues 3:07
    11. Mark 1:15 14:13
    12. Voice Of The Turtle 15:42
    13. The Waltz That Carried Us Away And Then A Mosquito Came And Ate Up Mysweetheart 5:49

In 1971 John Fahey recorded America, one of the most striking albums of his career. But sometime between the time it was recorded and the time it was released, half the album was scrapped. (Fahey was persuaded that a double album wouldn't sell.) Thus the truncated America was issued as a single LP.
Released here for the first time are the additional nine songs that would have made up the first album in the abandoned two-LP set. These singular recastings of American hymns, gospel, and folk songs; Skip James's "Special Rider Blues" an exquisite arrangement of the third movement of Dvorák's Eighth Symphony; and a couple of lost masterworks--"America" (the only recording of Fahey playing 12-string?) and "Dalhart, Texas, 1967"--allow the listener to grasp the scope and ambition of Fahey's original concept in a way never before possible. "It was a masterpiece then," says Chuck Young in his liner notes, "and it's twice the masterpiece now."
Here, at last, is America as Fahey originally envisioned it.

Find out more about John Fahey


Guitarist John Fahey's concept of Christmas music was a little different from the norm. The New Possibility: John Fahey's Guitar Soli… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
By the simple act of starting his own record label, Takoma Records, in 1958, John Fahey gave birth to a new musical genre and became the first… More
The late John Fahey is simply one of the greatest steel guitarists of the 20th century. As a composer, musicologist, and performer he had few… More
By the time he'd recorded his sixth collection of "American Primitive" guitar instrumentals in 1967, John Fahey was in command of an… More
John Fahey’s first three records were strongly traditional in orientation, though his strong feeling for drama and original arranging touch… More
John Fahey is widely recognized as one of the most influential acoustic guitarists of his generation. His early-60's Takoma records have inspired… More
John Fahey and many of his contemporaries and fans consider this disc to be his finest work. It contains both the 1963 and 1967 versions of… More
John Fahey is simply one of the most original and expressive guitarists ever. He created the "American Primitive Guitar" genre with his… More
It's hard to say which is the greatest and most influential recording by the man who invented the modern concept of the guitarist/composer and the… More
There are very few guitarists who have actually invented a genre of guitar playing. Charlie Christian and Chuck Berry are a couple of examples… More
The voice of the turtle is the voice of John Fahey, the guitarist from Takoma Park, Maryland who, in the words of Leo Kottke, "invented the… More