Angels On High
  • Release Date: 01 Sep 1997
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: OTHER
  • CAT # 80461-25

    1. O Come, Emmanuel 2:47
    2. Thompson: Alleluia 4:54
    3. The First Nowell 1:42
    4. The Carol Of The Birds 4:03
    5. Allon, Gay Bergeres 1:41
    6. A Hymn To The Virgin 3:34
    7. Lauridsen: O Magnum Mysterium 6:19
    8. Rejoice And Sing, From "Christmas Oratorio"
    9. Ave Maria 5:24
    10. What Is This Lovely Fragrance? 3:44
    11. Lo, How A Rose E'er Blooming 1:14
    12. Sing Lullaby 3:02
    13. While By My Sheep 1:27
    14. Break Forth, O Wondrous Heavenly Light, from "Christmas Oratorio" 1:09
    15. Heavenly Light 3:00
    16. Adeste Fideles 3:55
    17. Ceremony of Carols: Procession 1:20
    18. Ceremony of Carols: Wolcum Yole! 1:18
    19. Ceremony of Carols: There Is No Rose 2:30
    20. Ceremony of Carols: That Younge Child 1:56
    21. Ceremony of Carols: Balulalow 1:34
    22. Ceremony of Carols: As Dew in Aprille
    23. Ceremony of Carols: This Little Babe 1:25
    24. Ceremony of Carols: Interlude 3:21
    25. Ceremony of Carols: In Freezing Winter Nights 3:56
    26. Ceremony of Carols: Spring Carol 1:11
    27. Ceremony of Carols: Deo gracias 1:07
    28. Ceremony of Carols: Recession 1:28

A captivating and unusual holiday disc mixes classic Shaw/Parker choral arrangements with ravishing carols by outstanding British and American composers.

In 1995, Telarc released Songs of Angels (CD-80377), a recording of Christmas hymns and carols in arrangements by Robert Shaw and Alice Parker for a cappella voices. Angels on High features the Robert Shaw Chamber Singers, a chorus of 46 singers, conducted by Shaw in a program of holiday music ranging from Benjamin Britten’s well-loved Ceremony of Carols to contemporary pieces by American composers Randall Thompson and Morten Lauridsen.

Included on the disc are Thompson’s ethereal “Alleluia;” “Sing Lullaby” by Herbert Howells; Lauridsen’s “O Magnum Mysterium;” and Healey Willan’s “What Is This Lovely Fragrance?” Harpist Elisabeth Remy, principal harpist with the Atlanta Symphony is featured in the Britten. Organist Norman Mackenzie is also featured in a solo performance of Brahms’ delicate organ arrangement of “Lo, How a Rose.”

Find out more about Robert Shaw & Robert Shaw Chamber Singers


This Robert Shaw release is the perfect follow-up to The Many Moods of Christmas. More
A beautiful disc of Schubert songs for male chorus lead by the great choral conductor, Robert Shaw. More