Another Night To Cry

Lonnie Johnson

Another Night To Cry
  • CAT # OBCCD-550-25

    1. Another Night To Cry 3:15
    2. I Got News For You, Baby 3:10
    3. Blues After Hours 3:23
    4. You Didn't Mean What You Said 3:42
    5. Fine Booze And Heavy Dues 3:03
    6. I've Got To Get Rid Of You 2:34
    7. Bow Legged Baby 2:42
    8. Make Love To Me, Baby 2:50
    9. Lots Of Loving 2:43
    10. A Story About Barbara 3:15
    11. Goodbye Kitten 3:24

A pioneer of both jazz and single-note blues guitar styles and one of the most prolific of all blues recording artists, Alonzo Johnson (1889-1970) had retired from music when Bluesville producer Chris Albertson coaxed him back into the studio in 1960. Johnson's sweetly ringing tenor voice and deceptively simple instrumental virtuosity had, fortunately, lost none of their cutting edge. Recorded without accompaniment in 1962, this gem was the New Orleans born master's fifth and final album for the label and the first to focus entirely on his highly personalized blues repertoire.

Find out more about Lonnie Johnson


Blues and Ballads, a 1960 album that paired Lonnie Johnson with fellow guitarist Elmer Snowden, produced some of the most moving… More
Male-female vocal duets are a big thing in the record business these days. One of the first such pairings was that of New Orleans singer-guitarist… More
The father of urban blues, song crooner and guitar master Alonzo "Lonnie" Johnson had been cutting records 35 years when he made this… More
This 1960 session marked the comeback of one of the giants of blues and jazz guitar. Lonnie Johnson, who began his recording career in 1925 and… More