Au Courant
  • CAT # CCD-4779-25

    1. This Can't Be Love 3:03
    2. My Romance 3:31
    3. St. Louis Blues 5:38
    4. On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever) 4:03
    5. There'll Be Some Changes Made 3:24
    6. If You Never Come To Me 5:06
    7. I Didn't Know What Time It Was 4:02
    8. Avalon 3:03
    9. Emily (Theme From "The Americanization Of Emily") 3:09
    10. There's A Small Hotel 4:22
    11. Blue Room 4:06
    12. Have You Met Miss Jones? 4:16
    13. Willow Weep For Me 5:09
    14. Days Of Wine And Roses 4:01

"Employing classical right-hand technique to produce his trademark marriage of sophisticated chords and melodic, frequently blues-tinged single-note lines, [acoustic jazz guitarist] Charlie Byrd has a multi-dimensional instrumental style that is unique in a world traditionally dominated by electric guitarists who use a pick.... The versatility of his technique-combined with his brother's [bassist Joe Byrd] acute skills and [vibraphonist Chuck] Redd's own ability to switch between chordal and melodic duties-help achieve the uncommon degree of interplay that takes place throughout the material here.... ln describing his approach to the guitar as 'constantly evolving,' Charlie validates the album's title, which means 'what's happening' or 'up to date.' While Au Courant certainly reflects the current state of one of the instrument's most distinguished figures, it also exhibits a quality shared by all great music-it's timeless." -excerpted from liner notes by Jim Ferguson FEATURING: Charlie Byrd - acoustic guitar, Chuck Redd - vibraphone, Joe Byrd - acoustic bass

Find out more about The Charlie Byrd Trio


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.