Ballad Essentials

Carol Sloane

Ballad Essentials MP3 CCD 4971 25
  • CAT # CCD-4971-25

    1. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You 5:27
    2. Autumn Nocturne 6:01
    3. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning 3:15
    4. Soon 3:45
    5. You Go To My Head 5:40
    6. Heart's Desire 4:36
    7. One For My Baby 9:07
    8. Moonlight In Vermont 4:11
    9. I Was Telling Him About You 4:36
    10. You Must Believe In Spring 5:16
    11. The Folks Who Live On The Hill 7:56

“Carol Sloane has been part of the jazz scene since the late 1950s and she continues to grow in depth, passion and musicality as the years progress. In 1991 Carol Sloane recorded her debut for Concord, Hearts Desire. Since then she has led five additional sets for the label…which, taken as a whole, form the finest work of her career. Ballad Essentials draws its eleven songs from her six projects for Concord. Although the tempos are quite relaxed, the passion in Carol Sloane’s singing and the top-notch accompaniment make this a stirring and exciting set….Carol Sloane is heard at the peak of her interpretive powers.”— Scott Yanow, Author of Swing, Bop, Afro-Cuban Jazz and The Trumpet Kings (Backbeat Books).

Find out more about Carol Sloane


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.
Like most of her albums, Sweet and Slow owes a debt to Carmen McRae, Carol’s greatest inspiration. “As much as I adored Ella and… More
with Phil Woods, Mike Renzi, Rufus Reid, Grady Tate Recorded May 24-25, 1990. More
with Art Farmer, Clifford Jordan, Kenny Barron, Richard Rodney Bennett, Kenny Burrell, Rufus Reid, Akira Tana Recorded October… More