Baroque Favorites

Jacques Loussier Trio

Baroque Favorites
  • Release Date: 23 Oct 2001
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83516-25

    1. Handel: Sarabande and Variations from Suite No. 11: Theme and Variation No. 1 2:16
    2. Handel: Sarabande and Variations from Suite No. 11: Variation No. 2 1:36
    3. Handel: Sarabande and Variations from Suite No. 11: Variation No. 3 1:33
    4. Handel: Sarabande and Variations from Suite No. 11: Variation No. 4
    5. Marais: La sonnerie de Sainte-Genevieve du Mont 5:36
    6. Sonata No. 33 in B minor 4:54
    7. Scarlatti: Sonata No. 32 in F-sharp minor 1:29
    8. Handel: Largo (from Xerxes) 3:19
    9. Pachelbel: Canon in D major 3:37
    10. Marcello: Concerto in D Minor for Oboe: I. Andante spiccato 2:31
    11. Marcello: Concerto in D Minor for Oboe: II. Adagio 2:22
    12. Marcello: Concerto in D Minor for Oboe: III. Presto 3:08
    13. Albinoni: Adagio 4:31
    14. Handel: Concerto in F Major for Organ: I. Larghetto 4:06
    15. Handel: Concerto in F Major for Organ: II. Allegro 5:14
    16. Handel: Concerto in F Major for Organ: III. Andante 2:37
    17. Handel: Concerto in F Major for Organ: IV. Larghetto 4:24
    18. Handel: Concerto in F Major for Organ: V. Allegro 3:49

Pianist/composer Jacques Loussier has been swinging the classics for more than four decades now—ever since he formed the Play Bach Trio in the late ‘50s, when the union of his classical background with his interest in jazz created a remarkable success story. The trio toured extensively, selling over six million albums in fifteen years, and then disbanded.

In 1985, the Bach tercentenary prompted Loussier to reform his trio with two new members and return to his jazzy spin on the classics. For Telarc, his first two recordings were reinterpretations of baroque music: Jacques Loussier Plays Bach (CD-83411); and Vivaldi: The Four Seasons (CD-83417). He then expanded the trio’s musical language with recordings of music by the French composers Satie, Ravel, and Debussy.

For his latest Telarc project, Baroque Favorites (CD-83516), Loussier and his talented partners—bassist Benoit Dunoyer de Segonzac and drummer Andre Arpino—have tackled some of today’s most widely heard and popular Baroque classics. And therein, according to Loussier, lay the challenge—to maintain the essence of the music and still bring something new to his arrangements. "These pieces are so well known, and several of them are very simple," he says, referring especially to the enormously popular Canon in D by Pachelbel and the Adagio for Strings by Albinoni. "The spirit of each piece had to be kept. For every piece, one must find an idea and a solution. I may have lots of choices—lots of ideas—but only one will be the right one, the one that will be in good taste, and maintain the integrity of the original score."

Many of these works were originally scored for strings, and translating the sound of a small string orchestra to piano, bass and drums presented real hurdles. "The sound of the piano is shorter and more percussive than the strings," says Loussier. "I had to find ways to work around that in these pieces." The repetitive structure of the Pachelbel allows Loussier and his virtuosic bass player, de Segonzac, to trade the melody and bass lines in a delicious interplay of sounds and ideas. In the Albinoni, similarly constructed with a repetitive harmonic framework, Arpino provides a lively beat in the central section that tempts Loussier to some sassy improvisation.

The disc opens and closes with sparkling works by George Frideric Handel. Loussier admits that the opening work, the Sarabande from Suite No. 11, is one of his favorites, where the format of theme and four variations allows him plenty of scope for invention. After a simple statement of the theme, Loussier takes full advantage of the form, employing a mixture of gentle swing, walking bass lines, syncopated piano chords, and a persuasive Latin beat from drummer Arpino to bring the variations to life.

For the relatively unfamiliar second selection on the disc, "La sonnerie de Sainte Genevieve du Mont," by Marin Marais, Loussier found a brilliant "solution." "I was looking at the score, and I was really wondering what to do with it," says Loussier. "It was too simple in one way; too complicated in another. Then I thought, ‘How would it be in 5/4?’" The result is a spontaneous and witty simulation of Dave Brubeck’s "Take 5"—such a simple and natural marriage of ideas that it almost seems as though the piece was meant to be performed that way.

Two delightfully contrasting sonatas by Domenico Scarlatti are included on this disc. In the first, the lyrical Sonata No. 33 in B minor, Loussier keeps his arrangement simple, in a slow, cool swing. He shows off his classical "chops" in the typically rapid scale passages that open and close Sonata No. 32 in F-sharp minor, surrounding a central section with the bass and drums playing a fast Latin beat.

Parts of Marcello’s three-movement Concerto in D Minor for Oboe and Orchestra also display a distinctly South American flavor. The first movement, after a straightforward opening with a walking bass line, breaks into a lively bossa nova. In the Adagio, Loussier and de Segonzac once again trade melody and bass lines. The final movement calls for virtuoso playing from all three members of the trio, with fast scale passages for the piano, and bass and drum solos in the middle of the movement.

Two other Handel works round out the disc: the popular "Largo" from Xerxes, and the Concerto in F Major for Organ, in five movements. Loussier takes center stage in the first movement of the concerto with a solo piano improvisation. In the middle of the second movement Allegro, Arpino lays out an extended percussion solo over a distinctive Latin rhythm in the piano and bass. In the fourth movement Larghetto, de Segonzac’s solo lines are imbued with an almost Eastern flavor. The final Allegro is fast-paced but easy, and is a showcase for Loussier’s improvisatory skills in a solo piano "cadenza."

Find out more about Jacques Loussier Trio


For more than six decades, pianist Jacques Loussier has explored where the structure and traditions of classical music intersect with the… More
"This particular work by Schumann is ideal for reinterpretation in a jazz setting," says Loussier. More
Jacques Loussier Trio Celebrates a Half-Centruy of Classical-Jazz Innovation More
Jacques Loussier recorded this two-disc collection in 1991 and 1992 with his newly formed Play Bach Trio. The set spotlights Loussier's numerous… More
For more than four decades, pianist Jacques Loussier has maintained a long and prolific association with Johann Sebastian Bach. As frontman in the… More
Following up on the success of his interpretation of Beethoven's Allegretto, from Symphony No. 7, and the Best of Play Bach, Jacques Loussier… More
The Jacques Loussier Trio, whose marriage of classical music and jazz has captivated fans of both genres worldwide for nearly four decades, brings… More
The ever-innovative Jacques Loussier Trio make crossover fireworks in a swinging recording of "royal" classics by Handel. More
Telarc's best-selling international artist brings his unique improvisatory style and imaginative tonal colors to the sensual, dreamlike music of… More
Only the founding father of the Play Bach Trio could sweep the cobwebs off this monumental opus! More
Jacques Loussier is the man who has brought Bach and jazz together more successfully than anyone in history with over six million copies sold… More
Composer and arranger Jacques Loussier continues his highly successful Telarc series of jazz interpretations of classical masters. More