Basie Swings Standards

Count Basie And His Orchestra

Basie Swings Standards
  • Release Date: 31 Mar 2009
  • Label: PABLO
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # PAB-31240-25

    1. Lester Leaps In 5:04
    2. Too Close For Comfort 4:14
    3. Sweet Georgia Brown 3:39
    4. Satin Doll 6:01
    5. Jumpin' At The Woodside 3:25
    6. On The Sunny Side Of The Street 3:59
    7. Strike Up The Band 3:48
    8. In A Mellow Tone (instrumental) 5:44
    9. There Will Never Be Another You 3:07
    10. Things Ain't What They Used To Be 4:14
    11. Lil' Darlin' 5:32
    12. One O'clock Jump 3:27

A collection of jazz standards from Count Basie and his Orchestra courtesy of the Pablo Records vaults.

Find out more about Count Basie And His Orchestra


Prime Time, Bundle o' Funk, Sweet Georgia Brown, Featherweight, Reachin' Out, Ja-Da, The Great Debate, Ya Gotta Try with… More
with Ray Brown, John Clayton, Sonny Cohn, Charlie Fowlkes, Freddie Green, Butch Miles, Pete Minger, Bobby Plater, Dennis Wilson, Mitchell… More
Hittin’ Twelve, Frankie and Johnnie, Summertime, Cherry Point, Cute, Light and Lovely, A Night in Tunisia, Sunset Glow, Magic Flea, Good… More
Recorded less than half a year before Count Basie died, this session has the zest, drive, humor, power, and magic that Basie put into every… More
One of the pieces on this album is called "The Blues Machine," which could stand as a description of the big band Count Basie operated… More
Virtually to the end, Count Basie was at the piano in front of the band that was his natural environment for more than half a century, inspiring… More
Here is one of the strongest statements from the final years of Count Basie's legendary career. It features the music of Sam Nestico, the… More
Any big jazz band that works steadily is on the road; it's a condition of employment. The Count Basie band was on the move from its beginnings in… More
"I was in awe of working with that band," Bill Holman says. "They had just had a two-week layoff, and I showed up with a bunch of… More