• CAT # OJCCD-494-2

    1. Bear Cat 4:56
    2. Dear Old Chicago 5:30
    3. How Deep Is The Ocean 4:02
    4. The Middle Of The Block 4:59
    5. You Better Leave It Alone 5:57
    6. Malice Towards None 5:58
    7. Outhouse 5:29

Clifford Jordan (1931-1993) was always recognized as above all a team player. He began as a valued sideman for such distinguished leaders as Horace Silver, Charles Mingus, Max Roach, and Kenny Dorham, was involved in cooperative musician-run record labels and in educational projects (including New York City's celebrated Jazzmobile), and in his later years had teamed quite regularly with trumpeter Art Farmer. Such a player runs the risk of seeing his own career subordinated, but on those occasions when he was able to take center stage, Clifford Jordan ably demonstrated his power and imagination. Bearcat is such an album; it also features the brilliant piano work of another longtime team player, Cedar Walton.

with Cedar Walton, Teddy Smith, J.C. Moses

Find out more about Clifford Jordan Quartet


Cannonball Adderley, who produced Spellbound, brought Clifford Jordan into the Riverside/Jazzland family with this album. The alto star… More