Black Moses

Isaac Hayes

Black Moses
  • CAT # 2SCD-88006-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Never Can Say Goodbye 5:10
    2. (They Long To Be) Close To You 9:03
    3. Nothing Takes The Place Of You 5:29
    4. Man's Temptation 4:59
    5. Part-Time Love 8:30
    6. Medley: Ike's Rap IV / A Brand New Me 9:43
    7. Going In Circles 6:59
    DISC TWO  
    1. Never Gonna Give You Up 5:45
    2. Medley: Ike's Rap II / Help Me Love 7:31
    3. Need To Belong To Someone 5:15
    4. Good Love 6-9-9-6-9 5:15
    5. Medley: Ike's Rap III / Your Love Is So Doggone Good 9:16
    6. For The Good Times 5:20
    7. I'll Never Fall In Love Again 4:59

Black Moses, the original LP cover of which unfolded in the shape of a cross three feet wide and four feet tall, "is a wondrously crafted, intense evocation of the vagaries of love gone bad," in the words of Stax historian Rob Bowman. Hayes used songs popularized by such artists as the Jackson 5, the Carpenters, Toussaint McCall, Little Johnny Taylor, Jerry Butler, the Whispers, Ray Price, and Dionne Warwick, along with his own highly erotic "Good Love," to express the heartbreak he was feeling about the breakup of his own marriage. "Isaac's ability to take other people's material and make it so deeply personal," Bowman observed, "is nothing short of brilliant."

Find out more about Isaac Hayes


This double LP, released on Stax Records' Enterprise label in 1971, was the follow-up to Hayes' successful soundtrack for Shaft. Black Moses… More
Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most… More
ne of the best-available Isaac Hayes compilations, Greatest Hit Singles bypasses a couple of his later disco hits, but the result is a more… More
Hot Buttered SoulFour-song long-player ushered in the era of album-oriented soul with hits "By the Time I Get to… More
2009 installment in the popular For Lovers series featuring romantic performances from one of the music world's most iconic performers.. More
Stax Reissues Isaac Hayes' Shaft In Deluxe Edition. Digitally Remastered With Bonus material And Extensive Liner Notes. More
Isaac Hayes' legendary Hot Buttered Soul album reissued on Stax with two bonus tracks and digital remastering. More
Stax reissues Hayes' 1976 album, "Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak" on CD for the first time. More
Stax Records Reissues Isaac Hayes' "Black Moses" album on CD in Deluxe Edition with extensive liner notes. More
Isaac Hayes's first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and… More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 18 greatest hits including “Theme from Shaft,” “Walk On… More
Isaac Hayes' 1969 solo debut Hot Buttered Soul set a soulful tone for the decade that followed, influencing innumerable artists and… More