Black Rock/Gotta Groove

The Bar-Kays

Black RockGotta Groove
  • CAT # SCD-88018-25

    1. Don't Stop Dancing (To The Music)(Part 1) 2:53
    2. If This World Were Mine 3:10
    3. In The Hole 2:34
    4. Funky Thang 3:09
    5. Jiving 'Round 3:15
    6. Grab This Thing 2:14
    7. Don't Stop Dancing (To The Music) [Part 2] 2:21
    8. Street Walker 3:20
    9. Yesterday 3:15
    10. Humpin' 2:43
    11. Hey Jude 6:04
    12. Baby I Love You 8:42
    13. I've Been Trying 4:13
    14. You Don't Know Like I Know 2:37
    15. Dance To The Music 5:22
    16. A Piece Of Your Peace 4:03
    17. Six O'clock News Report 4:02
    18. How Sweet It Would Be 3:45
    19. Montego Bay 2:32

“The creative process is an experimental one,” Bar-Kays vocalist Larry Dodson once stated. This compilation of the highly influential Memphis group’s second and third albums, recorded between 1968 and 1970, showcases a band in transition from a primarily instrumental unit in the shadow of the Mar-Keys to a wildly experimental, decidedly psychedelic ensemble. The Bar-Kays called their revolutionary new sound “black rock.” Within it lay the seeds of “funk,” which they played an important part in fashioning. “You try out a lot of things,” Dodson added, “and the end result is a multi-dimensional creation.”

Don't Stop Dancing (To the Music) Parts 1 & 2, If This World Was Mine, In the Hole, Funky Thang, Jiving 'Round, Grab This Thing, Street Walker, Yesterday, Humpin', Hey Jude, Baby I Love You, I've Been Trying, You Don't Know Like I Know, Dance to the Music, A Piece of Your Peace, Six O'Clock News Report, How Sweet It Would Be, Montego Bay

Ben Cauley, Harvey Henderson, Joe Arnold, Andrew Love, Ronnie Gordon, Bobby Manuel, Michael Toles, James Alexander, Roy Cunningham, Willie Hall, Larry Dodson

Find out more about The Bar-Kays


As the premier purveyors at Stax/Volt Records of what was then known as "black rock," the Bar-Kays played a key role in the evolution of soul… More
Soul magazine once called the Bar-Kays "the founding fathers of funk." The 13 sizzling tracks in this collection provide strong support… More
Money Talks consists of tracks recorded by the Bar-Kays at Stax Records in Memphis between 1972 and '75 that were left unfinished until Fantasy… More