Blues By Lonnie Johnson

Lonnie Johnson

Blues By Lonnie Johnson
  • CAT # OBCCD-502-25

    1. Don't Ever Love 3:33
    2. No Love For Sale 3:02
    3. There's No Love 2:25
    4. I Don't Hurt Anymore 3:53
    5. She Devil 2:53
    6. One Sided Love Affair 3:12
    7. Big Leg Woman 3:14
    8. There Must Be A Way 3:23
    9. She's Drunk Again 3:21
    10. Blues 'Round My Door 3:33
    11. You Don't Move Me 2:12
    12. You Will Need Me 3:27

This 1960 session marked the comeback of one of the giants of blues and jazz guitar. Lonnie Johnson, who began his recording career in 1925 and went on to work with such diverse stylists as Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Eddie Lang, Victoria Spivey, and Texas Alexander, had given up on the music business by the late Fifties when disc jockey Chris Albertson found him working as a janitor at a Philadelphia hotel. Albertson brought Johnson to the attention of Prestige Records, which promptly recorded this album, the first of five by Johnson for its Bluesville subsidiary, reviving a career that lasted until his death in Toronto ten years later. Johnson's haunting, slightly sentimental vocals and crisp, lonesome guitar were superbly backed on this date by a r&b-tinged combo that featured tenor saxophonist Hal "Cornbread" Singer and pianist Claude Hopkins.

with Hal Singer, Claude Hopkins, Wendell Marshall, Bobby Donaldson

Find out more about Lonnie Johnson


Blues and Ballads, a 1960 album that paired Lonnie Johnson with fellow guitarist Elmer Snowden, produced some of the most moving… More
A pioneer of both jazz and single-note blues guitar styles and one of the most prolific of all blues recording artists, Alonzo Johnson (1889-1970)… More
Male-female vocal duets are a big thing in the record business these days. One of the first such pairings was that of New Orleans singer-guitarist… More
The father of urban blues, song crooner and guitar master Alonzo "Lonnie" Johnson had been cutting records 35 years when he made this… More