Blues Up And Down
  • CAT # MCD-47084-25

    1. Camp Meeting 5:28
    2. Blues Up And Down 5:09
    3. Nice And Easy 7:33
    4. Oh, Gee 3:55
    5. Walkin' 6:59
    6. Leapin' On Lenox 4:41
    7. Layin' On Mellow 4:54
    8. Last Train From Overbrook 6:54
    9. Hey, Lock! 7:59
    10. Midnight At Minton's 5:29
    11. Second Balcony Jump 4:25
    12. I'll Remember April 6:40
    13. Good Bait 7:42

Longtime jazz fans still speak fondly of the “tough tenor tandem” of Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis and Johnny Griffin. Of course, the ancient verities as set down in the early-to-mid 1960s by Davis (1922-1986) and Griffin (b. 1928) never go out of fashion. Blues-based themes phrased in close harmonies or powerful unison, rock-hard swing, and roistering horns locked from the jump were the calling cards of the Davis-Griffin quintets. Both men had readily identifiable sounds, with “Jaws” the bigger-toned, more mainstream-oriented player and “Griff” the Gatling-gunning bebopper. Here, in front of typically finger-popping rhythm sections on their first and third LPs for Jazzland (made in 1960 and ’61, respectively), we're reminded of why Davis and Griffin--along with Gene Ammons and Sonny Stitt, Al Cohn and Zoot Sims, and, in Europe, Tubby Hayes and Ronnie Scott--are still among the all-time winningest teams of tenor saxophonists.

with Junior Mance, Lloyd Mayers, Larry Gales, Ben Riley

Find out more about The Johnny Griffin and Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis Quintet


This is the classic jazz album by legendary saxophonist Eddie Lockjaw Davis that he famously recorded in 1958 for the Prestige label featuring… More


Long before album-length tributes to Thelonious Monk became commonplace, Tough Tenors Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and Johnny Griffin assembled… More
If double-barreled tenor saxophone fires you up, the tandem of Johnny Griffin and Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis is, to this day… More