Boppin' At The Blue Note

Jon Hendricks

Boppin At The Blue Note
  • Release Date: 01 Jun 1995
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83320-25

    1. Get Me to the Church on Time 4:32
    2. Do You Call That a Buddy? 4:39
    3. Good Ol' Lady 4:15
    4. Contemporary Blues 6:54
    5. Everybody's Boppin' 8:14
    6. Almost Like Being In Love 4:06
    7. Roll 'em Pete 8:58
    8. It's Sand, Man 2:35
    9. Since I Fell For You 4:52
    10. Shiny Stockings 5:13
    11. One O'Clock Jump 6:47
In a live recording at The Blue Note in New York City, John Carl (“Jon”) Hendricks, the father of vocalese, made his Telarc Jazz debut with Boppin’ at the Blue Note. He is complimented by a singing team made up of wife Judith, daughters Michele and Aria, Kevin Burke and trio, and augmented by fine horn arrangements played by trumpeter Wynton Marsalis, trombonist Al Grey and saxophonists Red Holloway and Benny Golson.

Hendricks maintains his remarkable knack for spontaneous invention amidst the company of stalwart sidemen, whose splendid single and mingled horn renderings are woven into Hendricks’ vocals. Much to the amusement of the audience, Hendricks’ challenges Wynton Marsalis to an amazing fast-paced scatting match on Hendricks’ original, Everybody’s Boppin’.

Hendricks’ inspired vocal team enhances this live recording, together with Michele, the three vocalists stretch and stop, bleet and bop through their horn-like vocal improvisations, much in the manner of 1940s “cutting” sessions.

From bluesy ballads to racing bebop, Hendricks, along with his singing team, stirs up a tightly blended jazz jam of classically Hendricks-embellished popular tunes. Over the course of his career, he has worked with the jazz greats—Thelonious Monk, Dizzy Gillespie and Duke Ellington. Hendricks shows he is still on top with this superb live release.

Find out more about Jon Hendricks