Ballads: Remembering John Coltrane

Karrin Allyson

Ballads Remembering John Coltrane
  • CAT # CCD-4950-25

    1. Say It (Over And Over Again) 5:59
    2. You Don't Know What Love Is 5:34
    3. Too Young To Go Steady 5:04
    4. All Or Nothing At All 6:47
    5. I Wish I Knew 4:17
    6. What's New 5:55
    7. It's Easy To Remember 5:59
    8. Nancy (With The Laughing Face) 4:42
    9. Naima 6:36
    10. Why Was I Born? 3:37
    11. Everytime We Say Goodbye 5:59

Karrin Allyson sings straight from the heart of the music, with a warmly personal style that draws listeners in and holds them close. She is both a vocalist and a pianist.

Allyson's 7th Concord release, Ballads – Remembering John Coltrane, is a respectful homage to one of jazz’s most influential instrumentalists and composers. Allyson reprised Coltrane’s 1961/62 recording of the same title with the help of a crack team of talented players, featuring pianist James Williams, bassist John Patitucci, drummer Lewis Nash, and three outstanding saxophonists – Bob Berg and James Carter on tenor, and Steve Wilson on soprano. Allyson plays piano on “I Wish I Knew,” while applying her unique sound and richly textured voice to Coltrane’s intricate phrasing and evocative tonalities throughout this CD, recorded at Sound on Sound NYC.

Find out more about Karrin Allyson


GRAMMY-nominated vocalist Karrin Allyson returns with Round Midnight on May 3rd More
Concord Jazz celebrates its longstanding relationship with vocalist extraorinaire Karrin Allyson by releasing her 12th album with the label, a… More
The most important language in this project, and easily the most universally understood, is that of the Brazilian music—that evocative… More
Singer Karrin Allyson has never been satisfied merely to repeat herself. With Footprints, her tenth Concord Jazz CD, she fulfills the dream of… More
One of most lauded voices in jazz today—and, not coincidentally, a true artist who views the spirit of jazz as a license to let her… More
One of the most captivating voices in music today, Karrin Allyson's In Blue is an artfully eclectic mix of songs that range from soul… More
"Bonjour" and "Bomdia"! Singing in French, Portuguese and English, Karrin Allyson --on her new album From Paris To… More
"Karrin good as they come, and as good as it gets." "This is what Karrin Allyson does: she sings well… More
Jazz vocal sensation Karrin Allyson is back with her most exciting and eclectic album to date. Singing in English, French and Portuguese, Karrin's… More
on piano: Paul Smith, Laura Caviani; on trumpet & flugelhorn: Stan Kessler, Mike Metheny; on bass: Bob Bowman, Gerlad Spaits; Todd Strait… More
on piano: Alan Broadbent, Paul Smith; on bass: Putter Smith, Bob Bowman; on drums: Sherman Ferguson, Todd Strait; Bob Cooper, tenor saxaphone;… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.