Cal Tjader Plays And Mary Stallings Sings

Cal Tjader And Mary Stallings

Cal Tjader Plays And Mary Stallings Sings MP3
  • CAT # OJCCD-1106-25

    1. Mighty Rumblin' Blues 3:51
    2. It Ain't Necessarily So 2:33
    3. God Bless The Child 3:21
    4. Just Squeeze Me 2:38
    5. I Didn't Know About You 3:53
    6. I'm Beginning To See The Light 3:09
    7. Goodbye 2:43
    8. Why Don't You Do Right? 2:40
    9. Honeysuckle Rose 2:12
    10. I'm Just A Lucky So And So 2:33
    11. Ain't Misbehavin' (I'm Saving My Love For You) 3:11
    12. Mr. Blues 2:43
    13. Just In Time 2:02
    14. Why Don't You Do Right? (Alternate) 2:39

In her recording debut, Mary Stallings more than held her own with one of the best bands Cal Tjader ever led. She was only 22 in 1961, but the native San Franciscan had been singing professionally since she was 15. All of the attributes that endear Stallings to audiences in the 21st century were in place—big voice, perfect diction, bluesy gospel tinge, and, above all, passionate feeling. This date helped launch an international career that included work with Billy Eckstine, Count Basie, and Dizzy Gillespie. The role of Tjader’s quartet is primarily one of support, but Tjader’s solos, Paul Horn’s flute, Clare Fischer’s arrangements, Lonnie Hewitt’s earthy piano, and the stalwart work of bassist Freddie Schreiber and drummer Johnny Rae make the album a must for Tjader fans. Bonus tracks present “Just in Time” and a stunning alternate take of “Why Don’t You Do Right?”

with Paul Horn, Clare Fischer, Lonnie Hewitt, Victor Venegas, Freddie Schreiber, Johnny Rae

Recorded May 19, 1961.

Find out more about Cal Tjader And Mary Stallings