Chicago: The Living Legends

Albert Wynn And His Gutbucket Seven

Chicago The Living Legends OJCCD 1826 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-1826-2

    1. Ice Cream 5:07
    2. Someday Sweetheart 6:03
    3. How Long Blues 5:43
    4. Honey 3:45
    5. Bourbon Street Parade 2:58
    6. The World Is Waiting For The 4:06
    7. In The Evening 2:44
    8. Nobody's Sweetheart Now 5:41
    9. I Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None O... 5:28
    10. How Long Blues 5:43

Trombonist Al Wynn (1907-1973) had not recorded as a leader in 33 years when these 1961 titles were made in his hometown of Chicago. Leading a septet of trad all-stars, including the wonderful clarinetist Darnell Howard (of Earl Hines fame), Wynn and friends stomp their way through a well-chosen program of New Orleans favorites, Tin Pan Alley standards, down-home blues, and appealingly nutty novelties like “(I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream for) Ice Cream.” Long out-of-print, and now including two previously unissued tracks, Al Wynn and His Gutbucket Seven is a New Orleans revival meeting at its most exultant.

with Bill Martin, Darnell Howard, Bus Moten, Blind John Davis, Mike McKendrick, Robert Wilson, Booker Washington

Find out more about Albert Wynn And His Gutbucket Seven