The Soul Children

Chronicle MP3
  • CAT # SCD-4120-25

    1. Give 'Em Love 2:47
    2. I'll Understand 2:41
    3. Tighten Up My Thang 3:03
    4. The Sweeter He Is 2:59
    5. Hold On, I'm Comin' 3:27
    6. Hearsay 3:28
    7. Don't Take My Kindness For Weakness 3:00
    8. It Ain't Always What You Do (It's Who You Let See You Do it) 3:34
    9. Love Is A Hurtin' Thing 3:14
    10. I'll Be The Other Woman 3:33
    11. Love Makes It Right 5:51
    12. Can't Give Up A Good Thing 3:40

John "Blackfoot" Colbert, Anita Lewis, Shelbra Bennett, Norman West

Recorded between 1968 & 1974.

Find out more about The Soul Children


The Soul Children were organized in 1968 by songwriter/producers Isaac Hayes and David Porter. Their idea was to create a male/female version of… More
When Stax Records lost Sam and Dave to Atlantic Records, Stax responded by organizing the Soul Children. With four hard-wailing leads--two male… More
When Isaac Hayes and David Porter lost their hottest act, Sam and Dave, in 1968, the songwriting-producing duo promptly put together another vocal… More