Cry Tough

Alton Ellis

Cry Tough
  • CAT # 11661-7606-2

    1. Breaking Up 2:57
    2. Why Birds Follow Spring 2:22
    3. I Can't Stop Now 3:22
    4. Ain't That Loving You 2:38
    5. You Make Me So Very Happy 2:53
    6. Remember That Sunday (Alternate Take) 2:51
    7. All My Tears Come Rolling 2:41
    8. Baby I Love You 2:16
    9. Chatty Chatty People 2:18
    10. Willow Tree 2:39
    11. If I Could Rule This World 2:27
    12. What Does It Take (Take Two) 3:19
    13. Cry Tough (Take Six) 2:15
    14. Girl I've Got A Date (Soul Style) 2:27
    15. Can't Stand It (Extended Mix) 6:50
    16. I'm Just A Guy (Soul Style featuring Phyllis Dillon) 2:21
    17. La La Means I Love You 3:07
    18. Why Did You Leave Me To Cry (featuring Phyllis Dillon) 2:37
    19. The Same Song 3:26
    20. Black Man, White Man (Take Two) 2:51

Click here to purchase this album on

Alton Ellis, the sweet-voiced giant of Jamaican music, put the Treasure Isle label on the map with his buoyant, soaring vocals, dancing along the grooves of the label's greatest hits. Cry Tough is crammed full of classics like 'Ain't that Loving You,' 'Breaking Up,' 'Willow Tree,' 'Can't Stand It,' and 'Baby I Love You,' and the title track. Also includes some outright soul takes of songs like 'I'm Just a Guy.' All songs were taken from the original Treasure Isle master tapes, whose long-lost delights shed new light on Alton's history-making career.

Find out more about Alton Ellis


Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comAlton Ellis is one of Jamaica's all-time favorite vocalists. Like so many other… More