Karrin Allyson

  • CAT # CCD-4773-25

    1. Daydream 4:36
    2. Like Someone In Love 5:51
    3. My Foolish Heart 7:47
    4. So Danco Samba 5:26
    5. Corcovado (Quiet Nights) 6:57
    6. Show Me 3:40
    7. Monk Medley 6:23
    8. Everything Must Change 6:45
    9. Donna Lee / (Back Home Again In) Indiana 4:44
    10. Nothin' But The Blues 6:59
    11. You Can't Rush Spring 4:14

"Karrin good as they come, and as good as it gets."

"This is what Karrin Allyson does: she sings well chosen, smartly arranged songs in a slender, sunny voice that makes you feel warm inside. She swings-hard. She scats like somebody who knows her way around a piano (which by the way, she definitely does: listen to 'Everything Must Change' and hear for yourself). She sings ballads like somebody who knows too much about long nights and second thoughts.

She loves Thelonious Monk and Antonio Carlos Jobim and blues with a backbeat and really, really good instrumentalists, and this album contains generous helpings of all the above. Added to the mix are two ringers, the first of whom hands you his calling card right from the start: who but Gary Burton could be responsible for the gracefully billowing clouds that ease Karrin into the title track? Randy Brecker makes a no less characteristic entrance midway through the first chorus of 'My Foolish Heart' slipping in behind the vocal with the quiet delicacy of an old friend who doesn't need to say hello. Consider them a bonus, a little extra icing on an already tasty cake."
(excerpted from liner notes by Terry Teachout)

FEATURING: Karrin Allyson - vocals, percussion, piano and special guests: Gary Burton - vibraphone; Randy Brecker - flugelhorn & trumpet with: Bob Bowman - acoustic bass; Todd Strait - drums, percussion; Paul Smith - piano; Danny Embrey - electric & acoustic guitars; Rod Fleeman - acoustic guitar; Kim Park - alto saxophone, flute; Randy Weinstein - harmonica; Laura Caviani - piano

Find out more about Karrin Allyson


GRAMMY-nominated vocalist Karrin Allyson returns with Round Midnight on May 3rd More
Concord Jazz celebrates its longstanding relationship with vocalist extraorinaire Karrin Allyson by releasing her 12th album with the label, a… More
The most important language in this project, and easily the most universally understood, is that of the Brazilian music—that evocative… More
Singer Karrin Allyson has never been satisfied merely to repeat herself. With Footprints, her tenth Concord Jazz CD, she fulfills the dream of… More
One of most lauded voices in jazz today—and, not coincidentally, a true artist who views the spirit of jazz as a license to let her… More
One of the most captivating voices in music today, Karrin Allyson's In Blue is an artfully eclectic mix of songs that range from soul… More
Karrin Allyson sings straight from the heart of the music, with a warmly personal style that draws listeners in and holds them close. She is both… More
"Bonjour" and "Bomdia"! Singing in French, Portuguese and English, Karrin Allyson --on her new album From Paris To… More
Jazz vocal sensation Karrin Allyson is back with her most exciting and eclectic album to date. Singing in English, French and Portuguese, Karrin's… More
on piano: Paul Smith, Laura Caviani; on trumpet & flugelhorn: Stan Kessler, Mike Metheny; on bass: Bob Bowman, Gerlad Spaits; Todd Strait… More
on piano: Alan Broadbent, Paul Smith; on bass: Putter Smith, Bob Bowman; on drums: Sherman Ferguson, Todd Strait; Bob Cooper, tenor saxaphone;… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.