Dedicated To Diz
  • Release Date: 01 May 1993
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83323-25

    1. Overture: Con Alma/Ow!/Bebop/I Waited for You/Blue and Boogie 11:15
    2. San Sebastian 9:28
    3. Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be) 6:56
    4. Bebop 7:39
    5. Diddy Wah Diddy 12:09
    6. Tour de Force 10:01
    7. A Night in Tunisia 13:21
    8. Ow! (Outro) 1:28

Slide Hampton and The Jazz Masters, a unique repertory ensemble led by trombonist and composer/arranger Slide Hampton and featuring some of the true giants and emerging talents in the jazz world, has been captured live at the Village Vanguard in New York. Telarc recorded the group on February 6 and 7, 1993, the last 2 days of its six-day engagement at the world-famous club. Jeff Levinson of Billboard called this group "the best big band in the business." The all-star ensemble for this recording features Jimmy Heath on tenor saxophone with guest Jon Faddis on trumpet.

Find out more about Slide Hampton & The JazzMasters