Double Play CCD2 2123 2
  • CAT # CCD2-2123-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. But Not For Me 5:03
    2. If Dreams Come True 3:54
    3. Long Ago And Far Away 3:53
    4. Drum Boogie 7:00
    5. I Love You, Samantha 5:54
    6. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter 6:11
    7. Easy To Love 5:26
    8. Get Happy 3:53
    DISC TWO  
    1. Swinging At The Copper Rail 3:27
    2. A Pretty Girl Is Like A Melody 5:04
    3. Cocktails For Two 4:18
    4. I'm Through With Love 4:19
    5. Linger Awhile 4:13
    6. September In The Rain 4:59
    7. This Is All I Ask 5:24
    8. It All Depends On You 4:24
    9. April In Paris 4:40

With one of the most amazing left hands in the business, not to mention one of the most melodic and swinging right hands, amazing pianist Dave McKenna covers the roles of both bassist and pianist on these two remarkable "sans bass" trio outings. Disc One, No Bass Hit, was McKenna's first recording for the Concord Jazz label, and he couldn't have picked better collaborators in this 5-star (All Music Guide) outing than warm-toned tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton and perennially swinging drummer Jake Hanna. Some seven years later the dynamic trio reunited for a much-requested encore - and more fun, relentlessly swinging jazz - with Major League. Concord Jazz is delighted to present these two classic recordings by the mesmerizing McKenna/Hamilton/Hanna triumvirate in one special package. Featuring: Dave McKenna, piano Scott Hamilton, tenor saxophone Jake Hanna, drums

Find out more about Dave McKenna, Scott Hamilton & Jake Hanna