Dvorak Stabat Mater
  • CAT # 80506-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: I. Stabat Mater dolorosa 19:11
    2. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: II. Quis est homo, qui non fleret 11:20
    3. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: III. Eja, Mater, fons amoris 7:12
    4. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: IV. Fac, ut ardeat cor meum 8:38
    5. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: V. Tui Nati vulnerati 5:54
    6. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: VI. Fac me vere tecum flere 6:40
    7. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: VII. Virgo virginum praeclara 7:04
    DISC TWO  
    1. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: VIII. Fac, ut portem Christi mortem 5:24
    2. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: IX. Inflammatus et accensus 5:55
    3. Dvorak: Stabat Mater: X. Quando corpus morietur 8:42
    4. Robert Shaw discusses Dvorak's Stabat Mater with Martin Goldsmith 20:44

The late Robert Shaw, who died in January 1999, had a long and fruitful relationship with Telarc, spanning twenty years and producing 41 recordings, eleven of which have won Grammy Awards. The current recording is the final one to be made by the conductor. Included on the second disc is a spoken interview of Shaw made by National Public Radio’s© Martin Goldsmith, host of "Performance Today."© The interview was made in November 1998, just after the recording sessions for the Dvorak Stabat Mater, and features Shaw discussing his career, this work, and the state of the choral art. Portions of the interview were originally broadcast over NPR on April 2, 1999.

The Stabat Mater was written by Dvorak in direct response to personal and private grief—when he began the work, in 1876, he and his wife had recently lost a baby daughter, who had lived only two days. Other work intervened requiring the composer to set the Stabat Mater aside, but he soon resumed it in 1877 after losing two more children in quick succession—a baby daughter to accidental poisoning, and his three-year-old son to smallpox.

The work was premiered in Prague in 1880, by which time Dvorak had risen from obscurity and poverty to become an internationally known composer. In 1883, the London premiere of the Stabat Mater met with such success that Dvorak was invited to come to England to conduct the work. He did so, conducting an enormous orchestra and chorus in the Royal Albert Hall in 1884.

In the CD booklet for this recording, Telarc President Robert Woods, longtime friend of Shaw and producer of most of his recordings on the Telarc label, offers a moving personal reflection on his experiences at the recording sessions for the Stabat Mater.

“I had the pleasure of making many recordings with Robert Shaw during our twenty-year relationship,” said Woods, “during which I enjoyed numerous special and moving moments. But this,” he continued, “was a truly unique and exceptional experience.”

Find out more about Robert Shaw & Atlanta Symphony Orchestra And Chorus


Rhythm is the driving force behind Carl Orff's Carmina Burana. Whether loud and bombastic or sorrowful and gut-wrenching, this work is intensely… More
Telarc presents a final collection of sacred and secular choral masterpieces taken from recordings made by the late Robert Shaw. More
Winner for Three Grammy Awards for Best Classical Album, Best Choral Performance Other Than Opera and Best Engineered Recording, Classical More
Robert Shaw leads an extraordinary cast of soloists along with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in a spiritually uplifting rendition of… More
"Gorgeous performances of two lovely, seldom-heard 20th century sacred works...Shaw's legendary chorus is both lush and precise, his… More
"...there are many beautiful moments here...Telarc's sound is detailed and clear...Anyone who wants a souvenir of Shaw's choral career will want… More
"The conductor Robert Shaw, a finely matched team of soloists, teh superbly trained Atlanta Symphony Chorus and Orchestra, and the organist Norman… More
Robert Shaw leads a great performance of Beethoven's Mass with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Chorus. More
From America’s greatest choral conductor, Robert Shaw, and his superbly trained Atlanta forces comes a new recording of two settings of the… More
2 CDs for the price of 1! "...a performance of superb control...it's a version you'll enjoy on all counts."… More
Grammy Award Winner for Best Engineered Recording, Classical The Faure Requiem was begun in 1886 and finished in the first weeks of 1888… More
"The recording is the natural, spacious presentation we have come to expect from Telarc." —High Performance Review More