Easy Living

Frank Morgan

Easy Living
  • CAT # OJCCD-833-25

    1. Manha De Carnaval 6:06
    2. Yes And No 6:15
    3. Easy Living 6:31
    4. The Rubber Man 4:09
    5. Third Street Blues 5:11
    6. Three Flowers 6:21
    7. Embraceable You 6:15
    8. Now's The Time 5:38

In 1985, Frank Morgan entered the recording studio for his second album as a leader--30 years after the debut session that marked the young alto saxophonist as one of the heirs of his idol Charlie Parker! Bad habits and bad judgment had kept Morgan off the scene for most of the intervening decades, yet he quickly proved to be far more than a mere bebop relic. While the date does include two nods to his Parker lineage in “Embraceable You” and “Now’s the Time,” there is greater emphasis on more contemporary material by Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner, and pianist Cedar Walton, whose trio provides such excellent support. There is also Morgan’s distinctly personal tone and phrasing, especially on the ballad tracks, that have brought him to the top of the jazz ranks in the ensuing years. Frank Morgan’s artistic rehabilitation has been a jazz miracle, and this recording is Chapter One.

with Cedar Walton, Tony Dumas, Billy Higgins

Find out more about Frank Morgan


Veteran alto saxophonist Frank Morgan performs majestically on Bop!, smoothly reviving eight bop standards with backing from pianist Rodney… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.