Edison's Lights

Harry "Sweets" Edison

Edisons Lights
  • CAT # OJCCD-804-25

    1. Edison's Lights 6:41
    2. Ain't Misbehavin' 5:59
    3. Avalon 5:43
    4. "E" 8:53
    5. Helena's Theme 3:24
    6. Homegrown 6:50
    7. Spring Is Here 6:29
    8. On The Trail 7:10

Half the performances in this 1976 album reunited Harry Edison with Count Basie, the man he worked for from 1937 to 1950. Their compatibility and their joy at being together are apparent. Contrasting the spareness and economy of Edison and Basie is the tenor saxophone of Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, another Basie confrère. Basie briefly reverts to his earliest type in the exhilarating stride passages of "Avalon." The pianist on the remaining tracks is the underrated modernist Dolo Coker. Throughout, in two of the trumpet giant's finest sessions, bass and drums are played by John Heard and Jimmie Smith.

with Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Count Basie, Dolo Coker, John Heard, Jimmie Smith

Find out more about Harry "Sweets" Edison


Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.


Two legendary masters of mainstream jazz—Harry 'Sweets' Edison and Clark 'Mumbles' Terry—perform a romping set of nine swing classics… More
with Buster Cooper, Curtis Peagler, Art Hillery, Andy Simpkins, Albert "Tootie" Heath Recorded April 18-19… More