Farmer's Market Barbecue

Count Basie Big Band

Farmers Market Barbecue
  • CAT # OJCCD-732-25

    1. Way Out Basie 4:19
    2. St. Louis Blues 3:22
    3. Beaver Junction 4:43
    4. Lester Leaps In 5:04
    5. Blues For The Barbecue 10:27
    6. I Don't Know Yet 4:10
    7. Ain't That Something 4:15
    8. Jumpin' At The Woodside 3:25

From his earliest days in territory bands in the Southwest, Count Basie had a secret: How to make a collection of instrumentalists generate rhythmic thrust so irresistible that no listener's foot could remain motionless. Basie's swing was the opposite of tense. Relaxed is what it was, and powerful. Through five and a half decades, Basie never lost the ability to infect a band with his swing magic. This edition of his swing machine, recorded just a couple of years before his death, is evidence of the continuing force of that magic.

Way Out Basie, St. Louis Blues, Beaver Junction, Lester Leaps In, Blues for the Barbecue, I Don't Know Yet, Ain't That Something, Jumpin' at the Woodside

with Bob Summers, Sonny Cohn, Dale Carley, Chris Albert, Bill Hughes, Dennis Wilson, Grover Mitchell, Mitchell "Booty" Wood, Kenny Hing, Eric Dixon, Johnny Williams, Danny Turner, Bobby Plater, Freddie Green, James Leary, Gregg Field

Find out more about Count Basie Big Band


A collection of jazz standards from Count Basie and his Orchestra courtesy of the Pablo Records vaults. More


Fun Time, Why Not, Lil' Darlin', In a Mellow Tone, Body and Soul, Good Time Blues, I Hate You Baby, Lonesome Blues, Whirley Bird, One O'Clock… More
Blues for Alfy, Featherweight, The Heat's On, Katy, C. B. Express, Prime Time, Swee' Pea, Mr. Softie, Way Out Basie with… More
Impressive as was its pantheon of great soloists over the years, the stock-in-trade of the band operated by Count Basie for five decades was… More