Fine And Mellow: Live At Birdland West

Carmen McRae

Fine And Mellow Live At Birdland West
  • CAT # CCD-4342-25

    1. What Is This Thing Called Love 6:46
    2. What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry 5:07
    3. Fine And Mellow 9:37
    4. These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You 5:27
    5. Black And Blue 7:37
    6. Just One More Chance 4:06
    7. It Will Have To Do (Until The Real Thing Comes Along) 5:06
    8. My Handy Man 6:44

One of the most distinctive voices in the history of jazz, Carmen McRae is in top form in this live, Grammy®-nominated recording. Captured in the intimate club setting of Birdland West, in Long Beach, California, Carmen surrounds herself with an all-star band, featuring Red Holloway (saxophones), John Clayton (bass), Paul Humphrey (drums), Jack McDuff (organ), and Phil Upchurch (guitar). The interaction and musical communication between McRae and her cohorts and ultimately the audience is magical. “On this program, Carmen McRae is in her prime, doing what she does best…with the right-now attention to each song’s atmosphere and meaning, enunciating with precision, making the words live…she delivers the essence of jazz.” – Mary Campbell, Associated Press

Find out more about Carmen McRae


One of the most influential vocalists in the history of jazz, the late Carmen McRae was also quite an accomplished jazz pianist. Her in-depth… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.