From The Bottom

Bobby Timmons Trio

From The Bottom
  • CAT # OJCCD-1032-2

    1. From The Bottom 4:56
    2. Corcovado (Instrumental) 6:20
    3. You're Blasé/bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered
    4. If I Should Lose You 5:50
    5. Samba Triste 1:59
    6. Someone To Watch Over Me 6:31
    7. Moanin' 5:32

It can be hard to tell Bobby Timmons (1935-1974) the versatile, appealing pianist from Bobby Timmons the remarkable composer of soul-tinged jazz standards such as "Moanin'" and "This Here." This 1964 trio set does a good job, though. And while it contains a rousing version of "Moanin'," it also boasts several standards on which the former Art Blakey and Cannonball Adderley pianist sounds simply first-rate. Timmons exhibits breadth, too, playing organ on "Moanin'," offering an unaccompanied ballad medley that includes "Bewitched," and, in a surprising turn, playing very solid vibes on "Someone to Watch Over Me." Accompanied by bassist Sam Jones and drummer Jimmy Cobb, Timmons delivers the relaxed swing, mellifluous lines, and, yes, undeniable soul, that made him such a jazz favorite.

with Bobby Timmons, Sam Jones, Jimmy Cobb

Find out more about Bobby Timmons Trio


The Prestige Trio Sessions pairs the first two LPs by Bobby Timmons (1935-1974) for the New York indie Prestige. Not surprisingly, the… More


Bobby Timmons called Born to Be Blue "the best record I've ever made" when he cut this excellent trio session, and the judgment… More
Bobby Timmons recorded this, his third album, a year into his second stay with Art Blakey. In a few months he would form a trio like the one heard… More
Bobby Timmons, in his dual role as pianist and composer of compellingly funky material, had been a great good-luck charm for such leaders as Art… More