From This Moment On!

Charles McPherson

From This Moment On OJCCD 1899 2
  • CAT # OJCCD-1899-25

    1. Little Sugar Baby 4:14
    2. Once In A Lifetime 5:11
    3. The Good Life 7:12
    4. Like The Way You Shake That Thing 3:18
    5. From This Moment On 6:14
    6. Without You 7:10
    7. You've Changed 3:46

Two attributes established Charles McPherson's reputation: His mastery of the style and vocabulary of Charlie Parker, and his driving swing. With those credentials, it was perhaps inevitable that Charles Mingus would pull McPherson into his orbit in 1960. McPherson worked with the volatile bassist off and on through the mid-1970s, even after he had achieved a good deal of success on his own. From This Moment On! was his fourth album for Prestige. It marks a stage of his development characterized by even greater confidence and intensity. Having recorded often with pianist Barry Harris, a mentor and longtime colleague, he now teamed with the rising piano star Cedar Walton and added the strikingly original guitarist Pat Martino. Bassist Peck Morrison and drummer Lenny McBrowne round out the rhythm section for this classic McPherson session.

with Cedar Walton, Pat Martino, Peck Morrison, Lenny McBrowne

Find out more about Charles McPherson


To a greater extent than on any of his four previous Prestige albums, Charles McPherson stepped out of the shadow cast by his major influence… More
Through the 1960s and well into the following decade, Charles McPherson continued to work with Charles Mingus, in whose band he became respected… More
Charles McPherson is an early bloomer who has kept developing throughout his career. Con Alma! is a snapshot of his development as of… More
At a time when such avant-gardists as Ornette Coleman and Albert Ayler were all the rage in the jazz press, Charles McPherson (b. 1939) kept the… More