Got Swing SACD 60592
  • CAT # 80592-25

    1. String of Pearls 3:38
    2. Stompin' at the Savoy 2:46
    3. Choo Choo Ch'Boogie 2:37
    4. Straighten Up and Fly Right 4:48
    5. Sugar (That Sugar Baby O'Mine) 3:42
    6. Skyliner 3:16
    7. Blues in the Night 9:49
    8. Avalon 5:11
    9. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) 3:54
    10. Clouds, adapted from Nuages 7:03
    11. Jumpin' at the Woodside 6:41
    12. Flying Home 3:57
    13. I'll Be Seeing You 3:45
    14. Sweet Georgia Brown 3:24

Now available in discrete multi-channel surround SACD as well as the CD recording!

Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops delve into some of the most beloved tunes of the swing era with Got Swing! This charming release features special guests Manhattan Transfer, John Pizzarelli and Janis Siegel. Many of the tracks on this recording were made in only one take—a miracle by today’s standards.

“Swing” got its name from one of Duke Ellington’s early hits, “It Don’t Mean a Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing).” Along with the Duke, composers and bandleaders like Count Basie, Glenn Miller, Tommy and Jimmy Dorsey and Benny Goodman were just some of the more prominent musicians to pave the way for this exciting new style of American popular music throughout the 1930s and 1940s.

Got Swing! features many jewels from this era sung by the renowned vocal quartet The Manhattan Transfer, including “Skyliner,” “Sugar” (featuring Cheryl Bentyne) and “Choo Choo Ch’Boogie.” Other highlights include solo tracks “I’ll Be Seeing You” sung by Janis Siegel and “Avalon” performed by John Pizzarelli. Got Swing! has something special for big band fans of every age and every taste.

The legendary Erich Kunzel has been conducting the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra since 1965 and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra since its inception in 1977. He has since led the ensemble to unprecedented success with music lovers worldwide who have discovered the CPO through its performances, television programs and best-selling Telarc recordings. His previous Telarc release Scary Music (CD-80580), features an eerie collection of sound effects and frighteningly memorable performances of theme music from well-known Hollywood horror films.

Celebrating their 30th anniversary this year, The Manhattan Transfer set precedence early in their career, becoming the first pop group to win Grammy Awards in both pop and jazz categories in the same year. They continue to perform internationally, and their latest recording, The Spirit of St. Louis (Atlantic), is an exploration of the music of Louis Armstrong.

John Pizzarelli has cultivated a winning career by singing classic standards and late-night ballads, and by playing sublime and inventive guitar. Using greats like Nat “King” Cole and Frank Sinatra and the songs of writers like Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen as touchstones, Pizzarelli is among the prime revivalists of the great American songbook, bringing to his work the cool jazz flavor of his brilliant guitar playing. His latest release on Telarc is The Rare Delight of You (CD-83546) with the George Shearing Quartet.

Janis Siegel has been riding a dual career track for two decades. In addition to her stage and studio work with The Manhattan Transfer, she launched her solo career in 1982 with the release of Experiment in White—a rare but favorite album among Siegel’s fans. Her followup solo effort, At Home, earned her a Grammy nomination in 1987 for Best Female Jazz Vocal. She joined Telarc in January 2002 with the release of I Wish You Love (CD-83551) in February 2002. Her upcoming Telarc recording, Friday Night Special (CD-83566), will be in stores in April 2003.

Find out more about Erich Kunzel & Cincinnati Pops Orchestra


Late in his brilliant career, Miklos Rozsa had begun rearranging portions of his scores to Ben-Hur, Quo Vadis and King of Kings as choral suites. More


Erich Kunzel and The Cincinnati Pops Orchestra Celebrate Great Film Music on Vintage Cinema More
Cincinnati Pops' Telarc Release, Bolero, Takes Listeners on a Breathtaking Musical Journey More
Tchaikovsky's perennial holiday favorite- a sparkling recording of all the best-loved highlights from the ballet. More
The magic of Vienna's Strauss family is captured here in a collection of waltzes, polkas and marches. These light orchestral pieces will have you… More
Masters and Commanders, the newest release by Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra on the Grammy Award-winning Telarc label, is a… More
Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops along with special guest Frankie Laine perform Western favorites including themes from "Rawhide", "Bonanza"… More
Journey into the Rich Music of Russia with Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati PopsKunzel and the Pops' 83rd Telarc recording evokes the… More
The New Classical Feel-good Album Of The Year! 44 Familiar Favorites In A Seamless Stream Of Spectacular Sound More
This holiday season, hop aboard Maestro Erich Kunzel’s one-horse open sleigh for an unforgettable salute to Christmas past and present… More
For many of us, the silver screen is a window into an imaginary life. Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra tap into this big-screen… More
Need a great gift for someone special, or your boss or that person who has everything? Telarc has the answer: The Ultimate Movie Music… More
Editor's Choice from Gramophone Magazine (November 2005) Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra stirring renditions of Howard Hanson's… More