Got That Feeling! / Moon Child

Johnny Lytle Trios

Got That Feeling Moon Child
  • CAT # MCD-47093-25

    1. Got That Feeling! 4:50
    2. Pow-Wow 2:42
    3. (In The) Wee Small Hours (Of The Morning) 3:21
    4. Big John Grady 3:32
    5. The Breeze And I 5:03
    6. It Ain't Necessarily So 4:30
    7. Lela 4:34
    8. Love Is Here To Stay 3:48
    9. The Soulful One 5:10
    10. Moon Child 4:43
    11. Work Song 6:42
    12. The Nearness Of You 4:34
    13. The Moor Man 4:04
    14. A Taste Of Honey 4:39
    15. When My Dreamboat Comes Home 4:37
    16. Moonlight In Vermont 4:30
    17. The House Of Winchester 4:18

Organ trios, and the blues 'n' gospel-inspired grooves that were their specialty, proliferated during the first half of the 1960s, when the Johnny Lytle Trio claimed their piece of the rock. Or, in their case, "soul jazz." The group's sound featured the pleasurably funky vibes of Lytle (1932-1995) paired with the churchy organ of Milt Harris, a friend from their boyhood days in Springfield, Ohio, and William "Peppy" Hinnant's drums. After recording four LPs for the Riverside subsidiary Jazzland (the last, 1962's Moon Child, comprises half of this set), Lytle moved over to the parent company, for which in 1963 he Got That Feeling! (also reissued herein). Joined by either the rock-solid Milt Hinton or Steve Cooper on bass, plus master conga drummer Ray Barretto, the threesome shows what made them popular in bars and clubs across urban America: an outgoing, direct approach and a tightly bouncing, bluesy swing.

with Milt Harris, Milt Hinton, Peppy Hinnant, Steve Cooper, Ray Barretto

Find out more about Johnny Lytle Trios


Johnny Lytle is not the only vibraharpist who began his professional life as a drummer. So did Lionel Hampton and Cal Tjader, among others… More