Greatest Hits

Cannonball Adderley

Greatest Hits MCD 9275 2
  • CAT # MCD-9275-25

    1. This Here (aka Dis Hyunh) 11:28
    2. Work Song (instrumental) 4:12
    3. Sack O' Woe 4:24
    4. Gemini 11:46
    5. Jive Samba 11:30
    6. Things Are Getting Better 7:07
    7. Waltz For Debby (Quartet) 5:12
    8. African Waltz 2:08

Way back in 1962, when the original vinyl version of this collection was released, Julian Adderley was king of the hill, the warm, witty, charmingly loquacious leader of perhaps the hottest jazz band in the land. It was at that particular point a sextet, but it had first burst upon the scene late in 1959 as the Cannonball Adderley Quintet, specializing in a soulful, joyously rhythmic brand of jazz that attracted and satisfied audiences on a thriving nightclub circuit that stretched across the country. –Orrin Keepnews

Find out more about Cannonball Adderley


Concord Music Group released five new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series. Enhanced by 24-bit remastering by Joe Tarantino… More


Concord Music Group is launching five new titles in its Very Best Of jazz series, which showcases some of the very best tracks culled from the… More
During his 16-album tenure with Riverside from 1958-63, Cannonball Adderley was given free rein to record whatever he wanted (a far cry from… More
Very few true jazz musicians can draw from a catalog of greatest hits, and the alto (and sometime soprano) saxophonist Julian… More