Isaac Hayes

Groove A Thon
  • CAT # SCD-8608-25

    1. Groove-A-Thon 9:48
    2. Your Loving Is Much Too Strong 5:39
    3. Rock Me Easy Baby 3:31
    4. We've Got A Whole Lot Of Love 5:38
    5. Wish You Were Here (You Ought To Be Here) 5:53
    6. Make A Little Love To Me 6:19

Isaac Hayes's distinctively syncopated rhythm tracks and lavishly orchestrated arrangements helped lay the stylistic foundation for what would become known as disco, and in 1976, the Memphis soulman jumped headfirst into the new dance craze with Groove-a-thon for his short-lived Hot Buttered Soul label. Perhaps he was premature, as the 12-inch single format that came to characterize the disco era--and would have proven ideal for the sensual "Rock Me Easy Baby" and tour-de-force title track--had not yet been introduced. The album thus "undeservedly" fell "into historical neglect," as Stax historian Rob Bowman puts it in his meticulously researched booklet notes, but with this CD reissue, it stands up well for reevaluation as a true masterpiece of soul. It includes "Wish You Were Here (You Ought to Be Here)," one of the most gorgeous ballads of Hayes's prolific songwriting career.

with Lester Snell, Sidney Kirk, Michael Toles, William Vaughn, Charles Pitts, Anthony Shinault, Erroll Thomas, Willie Hall, Willie Cole, Hot Buttered Soul, and others

Find out more about Isaac Hayes


This double LP, released on Stax Records' Enterprise label in 1971, was the follow-up to Hayes' successful soundtrack for Shaft. Black Moses… More
Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most… More
ne of the best-available Isaac Hayes compilations, Greatest Hit Singles bypasses a couple of his later disco hits, but the result is a more… More
Hot Buttered SoulFour-song long-player ushered in the era of album-oriented soul with hits "By the Time I Get to… More
2009 installment in the popular For Lovers series featuring romantic performances from one of the music world's most iconic performers.. More
Stax Reissues Isaac Hayes' Shaft In Deluxe Edition. Digitally Remastered With Bonus material And Extensive Liner Notes. More
Isaac Hayes' legendary Hot Buttered Soul album reissued on Stax with two bonus tracks and digital remastering. More
Stax reissues Hayes' 1976 album, "Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak" on CD for the first time. More
Stax Records Reissues Isaac Hayes' "Black Moses" album on CD in Deluxe Edition with extensive liner notes. More
Isaac Hayes's first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and… More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 18 greatest hits including “Theme from Shaft,” “Walk On… More
Isaac Hayes' 1969 solo debut Hot Buttered Soul set a soulful tone for the decade that followed, influencing innumerable artists and… More