Happy People

Paulinho Da Costa

Happy People
  • CAT # OJCCD-783-2

    1. Deja Vu 4:32
    2. Take It On Up 3:12
    3. Love Till The End Of Time 3:25
    4. Seeing Is Believing 3:58
    5. Dreamflow 3:48
    6. Carnival Of Colors 3:28
    7. Let's Get Together 5:41
    8. Happy People 4:08
    9. Put Your Mind On Vacation 5:14

A favorite of American jazz musicians, Paulinho Da Costa brought his 200 drums, bells, gongs, whistles, and other percussive devices to the United States and became a fixture in the studios of Los Angeles in the late 1970s and early ’80s. Initially a member of the Sergio Mendes group, he later recorded with Dizzy Gillespie, Joe Pass, Freddie Hubbard, Milt Jackson, Ella Fitzgerald, and Nancy Wilson, among others. Admired for his precision and exactness, Da Costa creates a variety of textures and moods. Happy People marries the ecstatic rhythms of his native Brazil and the excitement of powerful brass sections with the popular soul music of the Seventies. His associates include such West Coast studio mainstays as guitarist Larry Carlton, trumpeter Chuck Findley, and trombonists Bill Reichenbach and Dick Hyde.

with John Barnes, Greg Phillinganes, James Gadson, Marlo Henderson, Al McKay, Larry Carlton, Nathan Watts, Michael Boddicker, Charles Findley, Steve Madaio, Gary Grant, Bill Reichenbach, Eric Culver, Dick Hyde, Lew McCreary, Tom Malone, Gary Herbig

Find out more about Paulinho Da Costa


with Octavio Bailly, Jr., Claudio Slon, Steve Huffsteter, Gene Goe, Frank Rosolino, Mike Julian, Greg Phillinganes, Lee Ritenour, Larry… More
To judge by the success of current radio formats, this album was ahead of its time when it was released in 1984. It features the potent rhythm… More