Harlem Street Singer

Rev. Gary Davis

Harlem Street Singer
  • CAT # OBCCD-547-25

    1. Samson And Delilah (If I Had My Way) 3:52
    2. Let Us Get Together Right Down Here 3:07
    3. I Belong To The Band 2:52
    4. Pure Religion 2:54
    5. Great Change Since I Been Born 3:59
    6. Death Don't Have No Mercy 4:46
    7. Twelve Gates To The City 3:22
    8. Goin' To Sit Down On The Banks Of T 2:50
    9. Tryin' To Get Home -traditional- 3:42
    10. Lo, I Be With You Always 4:11
    11. I Am The Light Of This World 3:30
    12. Lord, I Feel Just Like Goin' On 3:28

Recorded during a three hour session on August 24, 1960, Gary Davis laid down 12 of his most impassioned spirituals for Harlem Street Singer. Starting off the session with a version of Blind Willie Johnson's "If I Had My Way I'd Tear That Building Down," here renamed "Samson and Delilah," Davis is in fine form. His vocals are as expressive as Ray Charles' while similar in richness to Richie Havens' work. Harlem Street Singer features his inspired country blues fingerpicking as well. Many moods color the selections, from the gentle "I Belong to the Band" to the mournful "Death Don't Have No Mercy," only to be followed by the joyous shouting of "Goin' to Sit Down on the Banks of the River." Overall, the collection is well worth the purchase and should be considered essential listening for fans of country blues or gospel. ~ Matt Fink, All Music Guide

Find out more about Rev. Gary Davis


Pink Anderson and Gary Davis, both born in South Carolina around the turn of the century, were among the last of a breed of entertainers known as… More


Born in Laurens, South Carolina in 1896, the blind singer-guitarist Gary Davis settled in New York City in 1935 and earned his living performing… More
The blind street singer Gary Davis (1896-1972) may have been a minister of the gospel, but he kept one foot in the secular realm. He was quite… More