Harold In The Land Of Jazz

Harold Land

Harold In The Land Of Jazz
  • CAT # OJCCD-162-25

    1. Speak Low 3:16
    2. Delirium 6:42
    3. You Don't Know What Love Is 3:27
    4. Nieta 4:34
    5. Grooveyard 6:57
    6. Lydia's Lament 5:46
    7. Smack Up 7:13
    8. Promised Land 6:27

In the late 1950s Harold Land earned a reputation as one of the first and most individual hard-bop musicians based in Los Angeles. Until his July 2001 death, he continued to record many “blowing dates,” of which this is a typical and invigorating example. Along with standard themes, Land uses original material (his own “Lydia’s Lament” and pianist Carl Perkins’s “Grooveyard”). This was also one of the few combo recordings made in America by the outstanding Swedish trumpeter Rolf Ericson.

with Rolf Ericson, Carl Perkins, Leroy Vinnegar, Frank Butler

Find out more about Harold Land


It was fashionable 45 years ago to debate the merits of West Coast versus East Coast jazz. The West Coast variety was supposed to be laid-back and… More