Hold On, I'm Coming

The Soul Children

Hold On Im Coming
  • CAT # SCD-88034-25

    1. Hold On, I'm Comin' 3:27
    2. Make It Good 3:06
    3. Ridin' On Love's Merry-Go-Round 2:48
    4. Don't Take My Kindness For Weakness 3:00
    5. It Ain't Always What You Do (It's Who You Let See You Do it) 3:34
    6. All That Shines Ain't Gold 4:05
    7. Love Is A Hurtin' Thing 3:14
    8. Come Back Kind Of Love 3:14
    9. Can't Give Up A Good Thing 3:40
    10. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours 3:20
    11. Summer In The Shade 4:48
    12. Hard Living With A Man 4:34
    13. I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To 6:36
    14. Hearsay 3:28

The Soul Children were organized in 1968 by songwriter/producers Isaac Hayes and David Porter. Their idea was to create a male/female version of Sam and Dave, but with two men and two women in the lineup, the concept became a double whammy. Unlike most soul vocal groups, which feature one or two lead singers, all four Soul Children took turns at the helm, usually within the space of a single song, and the results had the over-the-top intensity of a gospel tent revival at full shout. This collection of 14 sizzling tracks from 1970 through '78 includes the hits "Hold On, I'm Coming," "Don't Take My Kindness for Weakness," and "Can't Give Up a Good Thing," as well as the quartet's inspired reworkings of the Lou Rawls hit "Love Is a Hurtin' Thing" and Stevie Wonder's "Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours."

John "Blackfoot" Colbert, Anita Lewis, Shelbra Bennett, Norman West

Find out more about The Soul Children


When Stax Records lost Sam and Dave to Atlantic Records, Stax responded by organizing the Soul Children. With four hard-wailing leads--two male… More
When Isaac Hayes and David Porter lost their hottest act, Sam and Dave, in 1968, the songwriting-producing duo promptly put together another vocal… More
John "Blackfoot" Colbert, Anita Lewis, Shelbra Bennett, Norman West Recorded between 1968 & 1974. More