Etta Jones

  • CAT # OJCCD-1061-25

    1. And The Angels Sing 6:46
    2. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good) 3:15
    3. Give Me The Simple Life 2:50
    4. The More I See You 5:31
    5. Our Love Is Here To Stay 3:11
    6. Reverse The Charges 2:56
    7. They Can't Take That Away From Me 4:43
    8. Answer Me My Love 4:35
    9. Looking Back 3:41
    10. Nature Boy 5:38

Etta Jones, one of the jazz's reigning vocalists at the time of her death in October 2001, was well on her way during the productive period she spent on Prestige Records four decades earlier. She sang a full spectrum of material, and created the kind of hookup with her accompanists that were essential features of the recordings of Jones's idol Billie Holiday. Three ensembles support her efforts here. An unjustly obscure quartet appears on five tracks, including such diverse gems as the rock-era ballad "Looking Back" and the super-hip "Reverse the Charges" (originated on a 1942 date by vocalist Sonny Boy Williams with co-composer Freddie Webster on trumpet). The blue-ribbon trio returns from Jones's hit LP Don't Go to Strangers (OJC-298) on four standards, joined by Lem Winchester and Oliver Nelson, while "Nature Boy" features a two-guitar sextet also heard on Love Shout (OJC-941).

with Wally Richardson, Jimmy Neeley, Michael Mulia, Rudy Lawless, Oliver Nelson, Lem Winchester, Richard Wyands, George Duvivier, Roy Haynes, Jerome Richardson, Kenny Burrell, Bucky Pizzarelli, Sam Bruno, Ernest Hayes, Bobby Donaldson

Find out more about Etta Jones


This was Etta Jones' first album for Prestige Records when it was originally released in 1960 (having been recorded in a single session on June… More
After paying dues for over 15 years, Etta Jones (1928-2001) became an overnight sensation with the release of this, her first Prestige album… More
The absolute assurance that marked Etta Jones's singing throughout her career has never been on better display than in this album, where she… More
For the last decade or so of her life, Etta Jones (1928-2001) was able to finally sustain the deserved popularity she attracted briefly with her… More
Etta Jones's growing list of fans will find this 1962 orchestral encounter fascinating. The Billie Holiday influence that marked her earlier work… More
This was the followup album to the extremely successful Don't Go to Strangers LP whose title track took Etta to the pop record charts… More
South Carolina-born vocalist Etta Jones made her first record in 1944 at the age of 16 and continued to record prolifically for over a half… More