Honi Gordon Sings

Honi Gordon

Honi Gordon Sings
  • CAT # OJCCD-1783-25

    1. Strollin' 4:30
    2. Ill Wind (You're Blowing Me No Good) 3:54
    3. My Kokomo 5:15
    4. Why Try To Change Me Now 4:55
    5. Cupid 2:46
    6. Walkin' (Out The Door) 3:05
    7. Why 3:20
    8. Love Affair 3:40
    9. Lament Of The Lonely 2:43

Honi (aka Honey) Gordon's career began in her family's vocal group--the Gordons cut "Cupid" among other titles on a 1953 session heard on Charles Mingus: The Complete Debut Recordings (12DCD-4402-2). Her later career included two more appearances with Mingus and this 1962 solo album, where her supple phrasing and keen feeling enhance a program including four lyrics by her father George. Ken McIntyre (heard primarily on flute) and pianist Jaki Byard add instrumental support. Mingus fans will be particularly interested in "Strollin'," a vocal version of the bassist's "Nostalgia in Times Square."

with Jaki Byard, Wally Richardson, Ken McIntyre, George Duvivier, Ed Shaughnessy

Find out more about Honi Gordon