Elmo Hope

Hope Full MP3
  • CAT # OJCCD-1872-25

    1. Underneath 4:35
    2. Yesterdays 4:59
    3. When Johnny Comes Marching Home 4:58
    4. Most Beautiful 5:03
    5. Blues Left And Right 6:05
    6. Liza 2:45
    7. My Heart Stood Still 3:22
    8. Moonbeams 4:50

Elmo Hope and Bud Powell studied and practiced music together when they were growing up in New York. During a significant period of their development, they were all but inseparable. Each developed into a remarkable pianist. Later, the friendship became a trio when Hope and Powell spent days at a time with Thelonious Monk, the three sharing techniques and approaches to chords. Powell and Monk are honored as giants of jazz piano. By comparison, Hope is barely discussed, but he is considered by many serious students of the music to have been as great a musician as his friends. In this unusual solo album, Hope demonstrates his mastery of the instrument, the jazz tradition, and the rich possibilities in chords. On three pieces, he is joined by his wife Bertha at a second piano.

with Bertha Hope

Find out more about Elmo Hope


with Blue Mitchell, Jimmy Heath, Frank Foster, Percy Heath, Philly Joe Jones Recorded June 22 & 29, 1961. More
with Donald Byrd, Paul Chambers, John Coltrane, Frank Foster, Jimmy Heath, Percy Heath, Philly Joe Jones, Blue Mitchell, Hank Mobley More