I Remember Duke, Hoagy And Strayhorn

Ahmad Jamal

I Remember Duke Hoagy And Strayhorn
  • Release Date: 01 Jan 1995
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83339-25

    1. My Flower 2:31
    2. I Got It Bad 5:06
    3. In A Sentimental Mood 9:19
    4. Ruby 5:56
    5. Don't You Know I Care 4:44
    6. Prelude To A Kiss 4:20
    7. Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me 5:52
    8. Chelsea Bridge 4:40
    9. I Remember Hoagy 4:29
    10. Skylark 4:35
    11. Never Let Me Go 4:34
    12. Goodbye 6:08

Forging the same riveting improvisational intensity that's long made his music so electrifying, Ahmad Jamal radiates romanticism on this release. It is a powerfully fresh tribute to three great American composers who have influenced countless generations of musicians. Jamal's lyricism, awesome technique, and rich textural sound dominate this trio recording.

In both solo and trio settings with bassist Ephriam Wolfolk and drummer Arti Dixson, Jamal interprets twelve selections with a masterful playing style praised by the late trumpeter Miles Davis.

Ever since he garnered worldwide fame with his 1958 album, But Not For Me, Jamal’s more than five-decade career has focused on fresh and confident flow of ideas, a full sound, and an intermittently percussive style. Jamal has unquestionably earned his place among today’s most distinctive jazz piano stylists.

Find out more about Ahmad Jamal


This is a collection of Telarc's top jazz pianists performing their original compositions. More


For all its understated power, Ahmad Jamal's music can still achieve the grand gesture that sweeps together those myriad small details he has… More