I'm With The Band

Tierney Sutton

Im With The Band
  • CAT # 83616-25

    1. Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise 4:56
    2. Let's Face the Music and Dance 4:47
    3. 'S Wonderful 2:46
    4. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea 4:18
    5. Two For The Road 3:06
    6. East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon) 2:35
    7. People Will Say We're In Love 2:56
    8. If I Loved You 4:43
    9. Surrey with the Fringe on Top 2:26
    10. Cheek to Cheek 3:14
    11. Blue Skies 4:53
    12. I Get A Kick Out of You 3:30
    13. The Lady Is a Tramp 4:48
    14. What A Little Moonlight Will Do 3:18
    15. On My Way To You 4:11
    16. Devil May Care 4:27
JazzWeek’s 2005 Vocalist of the Year
“[Tierney Sutton] is the real thing: a hard-swinging, soft-hearted devotee of a great tradition, a pure jazz spirit whose singing conjures up open skies and clean air...”—The New York Times

“What stands out more than anything else are the arrangements, a series of musical settings that place familiar material in an unusual and appealing light.”—Washington Post Vocalist Tierney Sutton—whom The New York Times calls “...a serious jazz artist who takes the whole enterprise to another level”—and her band present a contemporary collection of 16 novel jazz arrangements. Sutton’s fifth Telarc release, I'm With the Band defines the group’s many years of collaborative work and deep personal involvement with the music. Each track adds gracefully to the band’s hailed reputation for modern and unique song adaptations. “The singer and the trio she has worked with for years—Christian Jacob on piano, Kevin Axt on bass and Ray Brinker on drums—have refined the kind of rapport that could be achieved only over time,” says The New York Times.

Recorded over two days at the famed Birdland club in New York City, I’m with the Band was performed in front of an invited audience. The album highlights the group’s strength and skill in performance, which Daily Variety described as an “uncanny display of spirit and unity.” The Washington Post praised a recent performance by the band for its “breadth of material [that] revealed not only Sutton’s interpretive gifts, but her harmonic and rhythmic agility.” The album features arrangements from all-time favorites like Rodgers & Hammerstein, George and Ira Gershwin, Irving Berlin, and Cole Porter. It is produced by Elaine Martone (Ray Brown, McCoy Tyner, Geri Allen), and features Ray Brinker on drums, Christian Jacob on piano, and Kevin Axt and Trey Henry alternating on bass.

Over the past decade, the Tierney Sutton Band has continually gained critical acclaim for their stylistic charm and cohesive music including their 2004 album Dancing in the Dark, which debuted in the top ten on Billboard’s Jazz Charts, and their 2002 release Something Cool, which rose to #1 on the JazzWeek radio charts.

In June 2005, Sutton won JazzWeek’s Vocalist of the Year Award. In addition, Sutton’s other credits include vocals on Lion’s Gate Films’ The Cooler starring William H. Macy and Alec Baldwin, and Paramount’s Twisted starring Ashley Judd and Morgan Freeman. She also teaches at the University of Southern California and conducts master classes and workshops worldwide.

Find out more about Tierney Sutton


JazzWeek Vocalist of the Year 2005 A legend in the making pays tribute to an icon. Vocalist Tierney Sutton interprets the work of an… More
JazzWeek Vocalist of the Year 2005 Vocalist Tierney Sutton swings, scats and seduces on Something Cool, her third recording on Telarc… More
Vocalist Tierney Sutton's Blue in Green is an album of music written by or associated with the late pianist and composer Bill Evans… More
Telarc presents a debut recording of astonishing freshness!JazzWeek Vocalist of the Year 2005 More