Imagina: Songs of Brasil

Karrin Allyson

Imagina Songs of Brasil
  • CAT # CCD-30428-25

    1. A Felicidade (Happiness) 4:20
    2. Correnteza 2:27
    3. Só Tinha De Ser Com Você 3:45
    4. Medo De Amar (Surrender The Soul) 3:42
    5. O Morro Não Tem Vez (Favela) 5:18
    6. Estrada Branca (This Happy Madness) 4:49
    7. Outono (Stay) 5:02
    8. Double Rainbow 5:32
    9. Imagina 2:55
    10. Desafinado (Slightly Out Of Tune) 5:13
    11. Pra Dizer Adeus (Time To Say Goodbye) 4:46
    12. Vivo Sonhando (Living On Dreams) 4:48
    13. Estrada Do Sol 3:07
    14. É Com Esse Que Eu Vou 4:41

From Karrin’s liner notes:

I began this recording project as I do all others, wanting to sing songs I love with players I love. Since there are far too many songs and players I love to put them all on a single album, one has to choose, of course. During this process, my dear friend and “Brazilian mentor,” Lúcia Guimarães, was coaching me on my Portuguese pronunciation for the various songs I had already chosen. At the time, I had been reading a lot about Antonio Carlos Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes and was lamenting the fact that I had not chosen more songs that were penned by them—there are so many great ones. One particular day that Lúcia and I were together, I expressed this idea to her and she proceeded to show me several lesser known (at least to me) gems by Jobim (such as “Imagina” and “Correnteza”), de Moraes (such as “Medo de Amar”), and Jobim/de Moraes collaborations (such as “Estrada Branca”)—songs that I immediately fell in love with.

So, although the concept of recording an album of Brazilian songs wasn't changing, many of the song choices were—and this was less than three weeks before we were scheduled to record! For me—a non-native speaker of Portuguese—this presented a real challenge: learning all that Portuguese and new material in such a short amount of time. But, as Leonard Bernstein said, “To achieve great things, two things are needed; a great idea and not nearly enough time.” Also it has been said that “revelations take time.” Ha! With this in mind, we went a step further as I was also very keen on making this recording “user friendly” to non-Portuguese speakers/listeners. I wanted folks to get these songs no matter what language they speak, while trying to remain as true to the Brazilian feel and sound as possible.

Enter Chris Caswell. On our previous recording project, Footprints, Chris wrote beautiful lyrics to well-known jazz instrumental standards. Why not tap his talents for this project too? He was (of course) game, and I am delighted to be the first to record his new English lyrics to Vinicius de Moraes’s “Medo de Amar” and Edu Lobo’s “Pra Dizer Adeus.” It’s hard for me now to imagine these songs without his lyrics. Along with Chris’s new lyrics, I’ve also included a very sensual English lyric by Paul Williams to Rosa Passos's song "Outono,” lovely English lyrics by Susannah McCorkle (“A Felicidade” and “Vivo Sonhando”), Jon Hendricks’s classic English lyric to “Desafinado,” and the sweet English lyrics of Gene Lees to “Estrada Branca” and “Double Rainbow.” So, while many of the songs on this recording feature the alluring beauty of the original Portuguese lyrics only (what a gorgeous, poetic sounding language!), I am pleased to be able to present several of the songs with wonderful English lyrics too.

But truly the most important language in this project, and easily the most universally understood, is that of the Brazilian music—that evocative, intoxicating combination of unforgettable melodies, rich harmonies, and infectious rhythms. Whatever your native language is, I hope that these Songs of Brasil speak directly to your heart, as they have to mine.

--Karrin Allyson

Find out more about Karrin Allyson


GRAMMY-nominated vocalist Karrin Allyson returns with Round Midnight on May 3rd More
Concord Jazz celebrates its longstanding relationship with vocalist extraorinaire Karrin Allyson by releasing her 12th album with the label, a… More
Singer Karrin Allyson has never been satisfied merely to repeat herself. With Footprints, her tenth Concord Jazz CD, she fulfills the dream of… More
One of most lauded voices in jazz today—and, not coincidentally, a true artist who views the spirit of jazz as a license to let her… More
One of the most captivating voices in music today, Karrin Allyson's In Blue is an artfully eclectic mix of songs that range from soul… More
Karrin Allyson sings straight from the heart of the music, with a warmly personal style that draws listeners in and holds them close. She is both… More
"Bonjour" and "Bomdia"! Singing in French, Portuguese and English, Karrin Allyson --on her new album From Paris To… More
"Karrin good as they come, and as good as it gets." "This is what Karrin Allyson does: she sings well… More
Jazz vocal sensation Karrin Allyson is back with her most exciting and eclectic album to date. Singing in English, French and Portuguese, Karrin's… More
on piano: Paul Smith, Laura Caviani; on trumpet & flugelhorn: Stan Kessler, Mike Metheny; on bass: Bob Bowman, Gerlad Spaits; Todd Strait… More
on piano: Alan Broadbent, Paul Smith; on bass: Putter Smith, Bob Bowman; on drums: Sherman Ferguson, Todd Strait; Bob Cooper, tenor saxaphone;… More
Sorry, but no detailed description of this release is currently available. Please click more info for this product’s tracklisting, and other information on this title currently online.