Indian Summer

Dave Brubeck

Indian Summer
  • Release Date: 07 Aug 2007
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83670-25

    1. You'll Never Know 4:41
    2. I'm Alone 5:17
    3. Autumn In Our Town 4:53
    4. So Lonely 3:14
    5. I'm Afraid The Masquerade Is Over 4:12
    6. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You 4:19
    7. Pacific Hail 4:19
    8. September Song 4:42
    9. Summer Song 4:14
    10. Thank You 5:03
    11. Georgia On My Mind 4:29
    12. Spring Is Here 3:57
    13. Sweet Lorraine 4:41
    14. Memories Of You 4:14
    15. This Love of Mine 3:54
    16. Indian Summer 4:53

“Dave Brubeck is an American legend. He is an American original who continues to make significant contributions to music and introduced a whole new generation to the world of jazz.” – Clint Eastwood, esteemed actor-director and jazz aficionado

Share the vision of a jazz icon. Indian Summer is Dave Brubeck’s first solo piano recording since his historically resonant 2004 release, Private Brubeck Remembers. This album, the pianist-composer’s eighteenth album with Telarc features a mix of timeless standards along with some of Brubeck’s most contemporary (and complex) work. In many ways, these sixteen songs tell the story of his life.

Indian Summer opens with “You’ll Never Know,” a song which Brubeck recalls from his days as a young soldier leaving his wife, Iola, during World War II. He says in the liner notes, “When I finished recording that tune for this session, I turned to Iola, who was in the studio with me, and told her that I had played that one for her. It brought back memories.”

Brubeck first played “I’m Alone” as a teenager in the 1930s, when waltzes were popular. He follows with two of his own compositions: “Autumn in Our Town” and “So Lonely,” which he says he wrote “about the time our first troops were sent to Iraq and Afghanistan and we were watching on television those tearful goodbyes. We remembered what it was like from when I went overseas in 1944.”

Neither a standard nor an original, “Pacific Hail” is Brubeck’s arrangement of the anthem of his alma mater, College of the Pacific. Later on, Indian Summer features another pair of Brubeck originals: “Summer Song” and “Thank You,” the latter composed as a tribute to Chopin during a State Department tour of Poland in 1958.

One of the most popular musicians of the past half century, Brubeck has hundreds of jazz, classical and religious compositions to his credit. In the 1950s and ’60s, Brubeck led his quartet in appearances on college campuses and in concerts behind the Iron Curtain.

One of the film world’s biggest supporters of jazz, Clint Eastwood – who directed Bird, the 1988 Charlie Parker biopic, and composed the music for his films Flags of Our Fathers and Mystic River – is taking the lead role in producing a new documentary about Brubeck’s life. Director Bruce Ricker, who made a well-regarded film about jazz great Thelonious Monk, will trace Brubeck’s career from his youth on a California ranch to his worldwide renown as a musician and proponent of human rights.

Indian Summer is a showcase for Dave Brubeck’s trademark rhythmic complexity and extraordinary ability to improvise, and proves once again how expansive his creative skills really are.

Find out more about Dave Brubeck


This set is a near-classic, one of many from this period, by the Dave Brubeck Quartet. Drummer Joe Dodge had just joined the group, and he works… More


Dave Brubeck covers a host of favorite carols on this solo outing. His chime-like "Joy to the World" and striding "Winter… More
Concord Music Group is launching five new titles in its Very Best Of jazz series, which showcases some of the very best tracks culled from the… More
The Definitive Dave Brubeck on Fantasy, Concord Jazz and Telarc celebrates the music legend's 90th birthday; reaches back to brubeck’s… More
Much of the success of Dave Brubeck’s career is founded on his original compositions or, in the case of “Take Five,” one by Paul… More
Of all the kingpins of West Coast (or “cool”) jazz, Dave Brubeck (b. 1920) has forged the most enduring and successful career, both as… More
Personnel: Dave Brubeck, piano; and various others, including Paul Desmond, alto saxophone; Gerry Mulligan, baritone saxophone; Bill Smith… More
In celebration of Dave Brubeck’s 60th Anniversary of his recording debut, Concord Music Group… More
Just in time for the 60th anniversary of D-Day, Telarc will release Private Brubeck Remembers, a collection of solo piano renditions of some of… More
As part of a series of selected CD releases from Marian McPartland’s Peadbody Award-winning Piano Jazz radio show, as heard on National… More
"His pieces blend the swing-to-barrelhouse aesthetic of his youth with a long established predisposition toward classical forms, complex… More
In 1958, the Dave Brubeck Quartet toured England for the first time. Forty years later, they return triumphantly with new material and to… More
For his seventh Telarc album, In Their Own Sweet Way, pianist Dave Brubeck again reinvents himself with fresh verve. More