Introducing Paul Bley With Charles Mingus and Art Blakey

Paul Bley

Introducing Paul Bley With Charles Mingus and Art
  • CAT # OJCCD-201-25

    1. Opus 1 4:11
    2. Opus 1 (Alternate Take) 3:25
    3. (Teapot) Walkin' 4:31
    4. Like Someone In Love 4:06
    5. Spontaneous Combustion 4:18
    6. Split Kick 3:06
    7. I Can't Get Started 3:40
    8. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 3:36
    9. The Theme 3:42
    10. This Time The Dream's On Me 3:09
    11. Zootcase 2:35

Paul Bley was a young pianist from Montreal getting his feet wet in the New York jazz scene of the 1950s when he made this CD with two very knowledgeable guides, Charles Mingus and Art Blakey. Bley has evolved over the years to become one of the most exploratory of modern pianists but he has never lost sight of his roots which he is heard working out on here: standards such as "I Can't Get Started" and "Like Someone in Love"; and Horace Silver's "Split Kick." A bonus is "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town," heretofore only issued on a Debut sampler.

Opus 1, (Teapot) Walkin', Like Someone in Love, Spontaneous Combustion, Split Kick, I Can't Get Started, Santa Claus Is Coming to Town, plus CD bonus tracks Opus 1 (alternate take), The Theme, This Time the Dream's on Me, Zootcase

with Charles Mingus, Art Blakey

Find out more about Paul Bley


Paul Bley (b. 1932) has always been well ahead of the curve. In New York in the late 1950s to mid-'60s Bley and Cecil Taylor were the two most… More