Jazz At The Blackhawk

Cal Tjader Quartet

Jazz At The Blackhawk
  • CAT # OJCCD-436-25

    1. Bill B. 6:54
    2. Land's End 4:03
    3. I'll Remember April 6:13
    4. Blues In The Night 4:41
    5. Thinking Of You, MJQ 3:42
    6. I've Never Been In Love Before 3:37
    7. Two For Blues Suite 5:15
    8. When The Sun Comes Out 4:54
    9. Lover, Come Back To Me 4:29

The quartet Cal Tjader kept together during 1956 and 1957 was devoted to straight-ahead jazz. Tjader's Latin fans may have missed his celebrated ritmos calientes, but they found ample consolation in enjoyment of one of the most swinging groups the popular vibraharpist ever led. Tjader, pianist Vince Guaraldi, drummer Al Torre, and bassist Gene Wright (in his pre-Brubeck days) loved playing together. Their mutual joy was visible and audible. It was captured at the Black Hawk, Tjader's San Francisco headquarters, on an occasion when the band had an audience that felt the vibes, so to speak, and inspired the musicians to an exceptional level. The late Ralph J. Gleason's liner notes caught not only the spirit of the music, but some of the character (and characters) of the beloved Black Hawk.

with Vince Guaraldi, Gene Wright, Al Torre

Find out more about Cal Tjader Quartet


Personnel: Cal Tjader, vibraphone, percussion, bandleader; and various others, including Clark Terry, Dizzy Gillespie, trumpets; Buddy DeFranco… More


Working over a rhythm section of piano, bass, and drums was the format of choice for vibes players in 1956, given the success of Milt Jackson in… More