Kancheli: Light And Sorrow & Mourned By The Wind

Rudolf Werthen & I Fiamminghi

Kancheli Light And Sorrow Mourned By The Wind
  • CAT # 80455-25

    1. Kancheli: Mourned by the Wind: I. Molto largo 11:28
    2. Kancheli: Mourned by the Wind: II. Allegro moderato 8:11
    3. Kancheli: Mourned by the Wind: III. Larghetto 8:35
    4. Kancheli: Mourned by the Wind: IV. Andante maestoso 12:55
    5. Kancheli: Light Sorrow 30:54

The Flemish orchestra I Fiamminghi, founded by its artistic director Rudolf Werthen, has won praise from the critics for over a decade for its incomparable richness of tone and musicality. Previous releases on Telarc have included the Fratres (CD-80387), Hovhaness' Celestial Gate (CD-80392), and the music of Grecki (CD-80417).

Cellist France Springuel was the fourth-prize winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, winner of the "Prix du Jeune Soliste" in Montreal, and a prize winner at the Tiji Competition in Bratislava. She has performed in concert series with renowned ensembles both in the U.S. and abroad, including the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Lincoln Center in New York, the Salle Gaveau in Paris, and the Hercules Hall in Munich. Her instrument is a Tomaso Balestrieri dating from 1752.

Giya Alexandrovich Kancheli (b. 1935) is a native of the Georgian Republic in Russia, and his music is steeped in the rich but troubled history of that country. The influence of Georgian sacred and folk elements is strongly felt in his compositions, although he is careful to state, ":...folk music had its anonymous geniuses, and thus I feel that...to extract from its ready-made quotations is, for me personally, blasphemy."

LIGHT SORROW was commissioned in 1984 by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra and the publishing house of Peters to commemorate the fortieth anniversary of the defeat of fascism, and was dedicated by Kancheli to all the children who perished in World War II.

MOURNED BY THE WIND was also a commissioned work, written for the West Berlin Festival in 1984, and as a memorial to Kancheli's close friend, critic Givi Ordzjonikidze. Originally written for viola and orchestra, Kancheli rewrote it for cello and it is performed by cellist Springuel and the ensemble on this world premiere recording.

Find out more about Rudolf Werthen & I Fiamminghi


Continuing its acclaimed series of 20th-century music performed by I Fiamminghi, Telarc presents a stunning recording of two mystical pieces by… More
In their seventh recording for Telarc, the outstanding Flemish ensemble I Fiamminghi, led by their founder and conductor Rudolf Werthen, perform… More
Telarc continues its series of masterworks by contemporary composers with the acclaimed Flemish ensemble I Fiamminghi. More
This is the perfect introduction to the I Fiamminghi catalog. More
In the fourth disc of its series on late twentieth-century repertoire by the Flemish ensemble I Fiamminghi, Telarc presents a world premiere… More
The music of Gorecki has gained worldwide attention and continued popularity over the past few years. More
I Fiamminghi releases their second recording on Telarc of outstanding twentieth century repertoire, the mystical music of Alan Hovhaness. Alan… More
I Fiamminghi's vibrantly warm sound, the electrifying virtuosity of their playing and the expressive impact of their performances have excited… More