Keep On A Blowin'

Willis Jackson

Keep On A Blowin
  • CAT # PRCD-24218-25

    1. Keep On A-blowin' 10:22
    2. How Deep Is The Ocean 4:02
    3. On The Sunny Side Of The Street 3:26
    4. Blue Strollin' 7:43
    5. The Man I Love 7:21
    6. A Smooth One 5:20
    7. Thunderbird 5:10
    8. Oh, Lady Be Good! 7:46
    9. Back And Forth 9:13
    10. California Sun 3:50
    11. Body And Soul 2:21
    12. A Penny Serenade 7:44

The 1959-60 sessions from which Keep on a Blowin' (the first LP reissued herein) is derived marked a significant turning point in the career of tenor saxophonist Willis "Gator Tail" Jackson. Having earlier found fame in the r&b realm as a leather-lunged honker, the Miami-born musician opted for a straight-ahead jazz approach upon signing with Prestige Records, one that reflected a grounding in the Ben Webster and Lester Young traditions yet was attuned to the emerging soul-jazz fashion. Jack McDuff, Jackson's organist at the time, is heard on Keep on a Blowin', while Freddie Roach handles the B-3 on 1962's more rock-oriented Thunderbird. Featured on both is the sweetly stinging guitar of Bill Jennings, one of the undersung greats of the instrument.

with Jack McDuff, Bill Jennings, Milt Hinton, Wendell Marshall, Tommy Potter, Alvin Johnson, Buck Clarke, Freddie Roach, Frank Shea, Ray Barretto

Find out more about Willis Jackson


Tuff-toned tenor man Willis Jackson put out a handful of B3-guitar gut grinders, and this 64 gig will get you… More


When it came to keeping the soul-jazz pot boiling, tenor saxophonist Willis "Gator Tail" Jackson (1932-1987) had few peers. But in the… More
Before signing with Prestige in 1959, Willis “Gator Tail” Jackson had made his mark as a honkin’, shoutin’… More
With the Cootie Williams orchestra in the Forties and with R&B queen Ruth Brown (to whom he was married for eight years) in the Fifties, as… More
Willis "Gator Tail" Jackson's meat-and-potatoes tenor saxophone moved easily from the blues and R&B on which he initially made his… More
This Gentle release is a compilation of Jackson’s ballads from his 61-62… More